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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 

Whether Mont. Code Ann.§ 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s mandatory 

minimum fine is facially unconstitutional under the Excessive Fines Clauses of the 

United States Constitution and Montana Constitution.  

 

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

On July 15, 2020, the State charged Appellant Neil Dennis Cole (Cole) by 

Information with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) (fourth or subsequent 

offense), a felony, in violation of Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-401(1)(a) (2019). 

(Doc. 3.) Cole subsequently pleaded guilty to the offense pursuant to a plea 

agreement on October 26, 2022. (Docs. 40, 41.) The district court, pursuant to 

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a) (2019),1 sentenced Cole to 13 months to the 

Department of Corrections (DOC), with the recommendation that he enter and 

successfully complete the WATCh program, followed by a 5-year DOC 

commitment, all suspended. (Doc. 47 at 2.) After the district court inquired into 

Cole’s financial circumstances, the district court imposed the $5,000 fine, less 

 
1 The specific statute that Cole was sentenced pursuant to is not mentioned 

in the record. However, Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a) (2019) is the only 

statute that Cole could have been sentenced pursuant to based on the instant 

offense being his first felony DUI and the district court imposing a 13-month 

commitment to DOC for placement in the WATCh program.   
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$100 for credit for time served and suspended the remaining $4,900. (Doc. 47 at 6; 

3/15/23 Tr. at 6-10.) Cole timely appeals the imposition of the fine.  

 

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS 

I. The offense 

On June 9, 2020, Missoula police dispatch received two reports concerning 

Cole. (Doc. 1 at 2.)  Cole’s son reported to law enforcement that Cole, who was 

last seen driving on South Third Street from Reserve Street in Missoula, Montana, 

“was threatening to harm himself.” (Doc. 1 at 2.) Another report came in from a 

store, stating that Cole “seemed impaired” and when he left the store “he stumbled 

in the street and then fell” before getting in a white jeep and driving off. (Id.)  

Cole’s son was able to track Cole’s location and relay that information to 

Officer Berger. (Id.) Sergeant Campbell initiated a traffic stop of Cole at Central 

and Holborn. (Id.) As Sergeant Campbell was talking to Cole, Officer Berger 

called Cole’s son back. (Id.) Cole’s son reported that he had multiple messages 

from Cole about self-harm. (Id.) Cole’s son also believed that Cole was impaired 

from alcohol and/or prescription medication because Cole had slurred his speech 

during a phone call with his son earlier that morning. (Id.)  

Cole reported that he was driving around to find his therapist. (Doc. 1 at 2.) 

Cole smelled of alcohol, his eyes were watery, and his speech was slurred. (Doc. 1 
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at 3.) Cole admitted that he had consumed “2.5-3 inches of a traveler, which he 

said was a plastic whisky bottle.” (Doc. 1 at 3 (internal quotations omitted).) That 

morning, Cole had taken Klonopin, Effexor, and Benadryl. (Doc. 1 at 3.) 

During standardized field sobriety tests (SFSTs), another officer nearly had 

to catch Cole several times. (Doc. 1 at 3.) Cole displayed six out of six indicators 

of impairment during the horizontal gaze nystagmus maneuver and five out of six 

indicators for the walk and turn test. (Doc. 1 at 3.) He was unable to perform the 

one-leg stand test. (Doc. 1 at 3.) Cole, however, believed that the alcohol he had 

consumed did not impair his ability to safely operate his vehicle. (Doc. 1 at 3.) His 

blood alcohol content was 0.126. (Doc. 1 at 4.) 

 

II. Relevant procedural history  

The State offered Cole a global plea agreement on October 25, 2022. 

(Doc. 41.) In exchange for Cole pleading guilty to DUI as charged in the 

Information, the State would dismiss with prejudice the felony DUI charged in 

Fourth Judicial District Court, Missoula County, Cause No. DC-22-302. (Doc. 1 at 

2.) As part of the plea agreement, the State and Cole agreed to jointly recommend 

that the district court commit Cole to the DOC for a term of 13 months, with the 

recommendation for placement and completion of the WATCh program, followed 

by a 5-year DOC commitment, all suspended. (Doc. 41 at 2.) The State and Cole 
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also agreed, in relevant part, to recommend that the district court impose a $5,000 

fine, which he agreed he had the ability to pay. (Id. at 6, 8.) Cole pleaded guilty to 

felony DUI on October 26, 2022. (Doc. 40; 10/26/22 Tr. at 8-9.) 

At sentencing, the district court reiterated that the plea agreement included 

various financial obligations and inquired into Cole’s financial situation. (3/15/23 

Tr. at 6-7.) Cole receives $1,643 a month from social security. (Id.) He pays $300 a 

month between vehicle insurance and his two storage units. (Id.) Cole planned to 

submit an application to Clark Fork Riverside subsidized housing, which would 

require him to pay one-third of his income in rent. (Id.) Based on Cole’s statements 

concerning his financial obligations, his counsel requested the district court strike 

the $5,000 fine. (3/15/23 Tr. at 9.) However, Cole agreed that he could pay the 

$450 pretrial supervision fee over time. (Id.) Ultimately, the district court, in 

relevant part, imposed the $5,000 fine, but gave Cole $100 credit against the fine 

and suspended the remaining $4,900 of the fine. (Id.)  

 

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT 

The district court did not abuse its discretion when, as part of Cole’s 

sentence, it imposed the mandatory minimum $5,000 fine pursuant to Mont. Code 

Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii). Cole, in his plea agreement, agreed that he had the 

ability to pay, and to the imposition of, the $5,000 fine. In doing so, Cole did not 
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agree to an illegal sentence in light of State v. Gibbons, 2024 MT 63, 416 Mont. 1, 

545 P.3d 686, because Gibbons held that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019)’s 

mandatory minimum fine was unconstitutional, with no mention of the 

constitutionality of Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019), the statute under 

which the district court imposed Cole’s $5,000 fine.   

Moreover, Cole has not met his burden of establishing that Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s $5,000 minimum fine violates the Eighth 

Amendment and art. II, § 22, of the Montana Constitution. The plain language of 

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) supports that if the district court 

elects to impose a fine, the $5,000 mandatory minimum fine is proportional in light 

of the conviction threshold requirements.  

Cole’s reliance on Gibbons does not support that Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s $5,000 fine is facially unconstitutional because this 

Court’s decision in Gibbons is manifestly wrong. First, Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231 does not embody Monana’s Excessive Fines Clause. Second, 

principles of statutory construction support harmonizing Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019) with Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231. Third, Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019)’s fine is proportional to the gravity of the offense. Fourth, 

consideration of a defendant’s ability to pay, as part of a constitutional excessive 

fines analysis, constitutes an as-applied, not a facial, constitutional challenge. 
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Finally, the record supports Cole has the ability to pay the $5,000 fine, and 

that the fine is not unconstitutional as-applied to Cole. Again, Cole agreed he had 

the ability to pay the $5,000 fine. Nonetheless, before imposing the $5,000 fine, 

the district court conducted a serious inquiry into Cole’s ability to pay the fine. 

Based on his financial circumstances, the district court suspended the remaining 

portion of the fine. As a result, Cole cannot establish that the district court abused 

its discretion when it imposed the $5,000 fine pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019), or that imposition of the fine was disproportionate to 

his individual circumstances.  

 

STANDARD OF REVIEW 

This Court reviews criminal sentences for legality. Gibbons, ¶ 20. A claim 

that a criminal sentence violates a constitutional provision is reviewed de novo. Id.   

 

ARGUMENT 

I. Because Cole agreed to the $5,000 fine in his plea agreement, and 

the $5,000 fine imposed pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) has not been declared unconstitutional, 

Cole has waived appellate review of his sole claim.  

Cole argues that because Gibbons held that the mandatory minimum fine 

imposed pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019) was unconstitutional, 

Cole agreed to an illegal sentence when he agreed to pay the $5,000 fine as stated 
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in the plea agreement. (Appellant’s Br. at 12.) Cole is correct that a defendant 

cannot plead to an illegal sentence. State v. Cleveland, 2014 MT 305, ¶ 29, 

377 Mont. 97, 338 P.3d 606. Cole’s fine, however, was imposed pursuant to 

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019), which this Court has not declared 

unconstitutional. As such, Cole did not plea bargain to a sentence that the district 

court was not authorized to impose by law. See Cleveland, ¶ 29.   

This Court has long held that it will not lend its assistance to an accused 

criminal in escaping the obligations of a plea bargain after accepting its benefits. 

See, e.g., State v. Bowley, 282 Mont. 298, 310, 938 P.3d 592, 599 (1997); State v. 

Sattler, 170 Mont. 35, 37, 549 P.2d 1080, 1081 (1976); State v. Nance, 120 Mont. 

152, 166, 184 P.2d 554, 561 (1947). This Court, therefore, should affirm the 

district court’s imposition of the $5,000 fine because Cole agreed to its imposition 

in exchange for the State dismissing a subsequent 2022 felony DUI charge. 

(See Doc. 41 at 2.) 

 

II. Cole has not established that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-

731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) is facially unconstitutional. 

Even if this Court reviews Cole’s challenge to the district court imposing the 

$5,000 fine, Cole has not established that the $5,000 fine, imposed pursuant to 

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019), is facially unconstitutional.  
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A. Cole does not sufficiently argue that Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s minimum $5,000 fine is facially 

unconstitutional.  

Cole does not explicitly argue that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) 

(2019)’s mandatory minimum $5,000 fine is facially unconstitutional. Instead, 

Cole erroneously asserts his fine was imposed pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019) and, therefore, was illegally imposed based on this Court’s 

decision in Gibbons. In doing so, Cole does not argue that Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s $5,000 mandatory minimum fine is disproportionate 

to the gravity of the offense, rendering it facially unconstitutional under Montana’s 

Excessive Fines Clause or the United States’ Excessive Fines Clause. Nor does 

Cole argue that Gibbons applies to Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s 

mandatory fine.  

This Court “will not conduct legal research on behalf of a party or develop 

legal analysis that might support a party’s position.” State v. Oliver, 2022 MT 104, 

¶ 42, 408 Mont. 519, 510 P.3d 1218 (internal quotations and citation omitted). 

Because Cole has failed to sufficiently allege that the $5,000 fine imposed pursuant 

to Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) is facially unconstitutional, this 

Court should decline to review his claim. However, even if this Court construes 

Cole’s discussion of Gibbons as sufficiently raising a facial constitutional challenge, 
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Cole has not, and cannot, establish that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) 

(2019)’s mandatory fine is disproportionate to the gravity of the offense.  

B. Montana Code Annotated § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) does 

not violate the Excessive Fines Clauses under the United 

States Constitution or the Montana Constitution. 

“Legislative enactments are presumed to be constitutional.” In re S.M., 

2017 MT 244, ¶ 10, 389 Mont. 28, 403 P.3d 324 (citation omitted). “[C]ourts 

should avoid constitutional issues whenever possible.” State v. Russell, 2008 MT 

417, ¶ 19, 347 Mont. 301, 198 P.3d 217 (internal quotations and citation omitted). 

“The party challenging the constitutionality of a statute has the burden of proving 

beyond a reasonable doubt that it is unconstitutional.” State v. Ber Lee Yang, 

2019 MT 266, ¶ 14, 397 Mont. 486, 452 P.3d 897 (citation omitted). To prevail on 

a facial challenge, the challenging party must show that “no set of circumstances 

exists under which the statute would be valid or that the statute lacks a plainly 

legitimate sweep.” Id. (internal quotations and citations omitted).  

The Eighth Amendment of the United States Constitution and article II, 

section 22, of the Montana Constitution protect a defendant’s right to be free from 

excessive fines. Proportionality is the touchstone of the Eighth Amendment’s and 

Montana’s Excessive Fines Clauses. Yang, ¶ 16 (citation omitted). The fine amount 

“must bear some relationship to the gravity of the offense that it is designed to 

punish.” Id.  
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Thus, in order to establish that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s 

fine was facially unconstitutional, Cole would have to establish, beyond a reasonable 

doubt, that there is no set of circumstances under which Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s mandatory minimum $5,000 fine bears some 

relationship to a first felony DUI conviction. Cole cannot do so. 

By its plain language, Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s 

mandatory minimum $5,000 fine is proportional. Montana Code Annotated 

§ 61-8-731(1) (2019) requires, before imposition of the mandatory minimum 

$5,000 fine, that the defendant, in relevant part, must have “any combination of 

three or more prior convictions under . . . 61-8-401, 61-8-406, or 61-8-465.” In 

other words, the plain language of Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) 

supports that the Legislature enacted a financial penalty range—$5,000 to 

$10,000—that is proportional to the gravity of the offense—felony DUI. 

Moreover, the penalty ranges, up to felony DUI, all increase incrementally in 

proportion to the number of offenses. Unless there is a passenger under the age of 

the 16 when the offense is committed, a first offense DUI is punishable within a 

fine range of $600 to $1,200, a second offense DUI is punishable within a fine 

range of $1,200 to $2,000, and a third offense DUI is punishable within a fine 

range of $2,500 to $5,000. Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-714(1)(a), (2)(a), (3)(a) 



11 

(2019). Continuing up the step ladder of increments of fines, a felony DUI follows 

suit: the fourth offense DUI has a fine range of $5,000 to $10,000.  

Cole has not established that the fine range of $5,000 to $10,000 is 

disproportionate to an offender who, at a minimum, has committed four DUI 

offenses.  

C. This Court should decline to extend Gibbons because this 

Court’s decision in Gibbons is manifestly wrong, and, as 

such, should be overturned. 

This Court should decline to extend Gibbons to Cole’s case because Gibbons 

is manifestly wrong. “Stare decisis means ‘to abide by, or adhere to, decided 

cases.’” State v. Gatts, 279 Mont. 42, 51, 928 P.2d 114, 119 (1996) (quoting 

Black’s Law Dictionary 1406 (6th ed. 1990)). It “is a fundamental doctrine which 

reflects [this Court’s] concerns for stability, predictability and equal treatment.” 

Gatts, 279 Mont. at 51, 928 P.3d at 119 (citation omitted). “When it comes to 

interpretation of our Constitution, we place a high value on getting it right, because 

citizens must live with a bad decision unless we correct our mistake.” Gibbons, 

¶ 62. This Court is not constrained to follow precedent that was “badly reasoned or 

insufficiently reasoned.” Id. Thus, stare decisis requires this Court to follow 

precedent unless the precedent is “manifestly wrong.” Formicove, Inc. v. 

Burlington N., 207 Mont. 189, 194-95, 673 P.2d 469, 472 (1983). 
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This Court should overrule Gibbons because it is manifestly wrong for four 

reasons: (1) Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231 is not an incorporation of Montana’s 

Excessive Fines Clause; (2) the plain statutory language supports harmonizing 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3) with Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019); 

(3) Mont. Code Ann. § 46-8-731(3) (2019)’s fine range is constitutionally 

proportional to the gravity of the offense; and (4) proportionality to the offender is 

more appropriately considered as an as-applied, not a facial, challenge under 

Montana’s Excessive Fines Clause. 

1. Neither the plain language nor the legislative history 

supports that Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231 was 

meant to embody Montana’s Excessive Fines Clause. 

 

Since its decision in Yang this Court has afforded Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231 considerable weight. In Yang, this Court addressed whether 

Mont. Code Ann. § 45-9-130(1)’s 35% drug market value fine was unconstitutional 

because it required district courts to impose the fine “without consideration of an 

offender’s financial resources, the nature of the crime committed, and the nature of 

the burden the required fine would have on the offender.” Yang, ¶ 9. This Court 

began its inquiry into the constitutionality of Mont. Code Ann. § 45-9-130(1) by 

reviewing the constitutionality of Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3), a statute not 

referenced by Mont. Code Ann. § 45-9-130(1) or challenged by Yang on appeal. 

Yang, ¶ 41 (J. Rice, dissenting). 
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As aptly noted in the dissenting opinion, this Court ultimately concluded that 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3) “embodies the Eighth Amendment such that 

other statutes must conform to it to also be constitutional.” Yang, ¶ 41 (J. Rice 

dissenting) (citing Yang, ¶¶ 17-19). Through that lens, this Court held that 

Mont. Const. art. II, § 22 “requires that the sentencing judge be able to consider 

‘the nature of the crime committed, the financial resources of the offender, and the 

nature of the burden that payment of the fine will impose’ before ordering the 

offender to pay the 35%-market-value fine contained in § 45-9-130(1), MCA.” 

Id. ¶ 24 (quoting Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3)).2 

Relying on Yang, the Gibbons Court again, without any acknowledgment or 

analysis of the purpose for enacting Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231, elevated 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231 to the statutory equivalent of Montana’s Excessive 

Fines Clause, concluding that “the Montana Legislature has effectuated [] federal 

and state constitutional protections against excessive fines by codifying the inquiry 

necessary to guarantee that a fine is proportional in § 46-18-231, MCA.” Gibbons, 

 
2 In State v. Tam Thanh Le, 2018 MT 82, 387 Mont. 224, 392 P.3d 607, this 

Court reviewed the same constitutional challenge to the same statute it reviewed in 

Yang. Yet, in Le, this Court concluded, without mention of Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231, that Mont. Code Ann. § 45-9-130 did not violate Mont. Const. art. II, 

§ 22 because that statute created a fine that was proportional to the gravity of the 

offense. Le, ¶¶ 13, 15. However, this Court did not overrule Le in Yang. See Yang, 

¶ 24. 
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¶ 50. In support of its conclusion, this Court rationalized, without citation, that 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231: 

is an enlightened response to the increasing punitiveness in the 

American approach to criminal justice, an acknowledgment that 

imposition of mandatory fines on impoverished defendants are 

unlikely to reduce future crime, and a recognition that the impact of 

mandatory minimum fines is disproportionate on families of poor 

defendants and minority communities, particularly those of color.  

 

Gibbons, ¶ 54.  Only by promoting Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231 to constitutional 

status was the Gibbons Court able to conclude that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) 

(2019) was facially unconstitutional under Montana’s Excessive Fines Clause 

because it did not comply with Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231. 

However, nothing in the legislative history supports the Gibbons Court’s 

conclusion that the Legislature intended and enacted Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231 

to be a constitutional protection against excessive fines. Rather, Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231 was enacted to authorize sentencing courts to punish offenders with 

fines instead of incarceration for certain offenses as long as the offender has the 

ability to pay the fine and the fine does not exceed $50,000. Mont. S. Jud. Comm., 

Hr’g on S.B. 14 at 2-3 (Jan. 9, 1981); Mont. S. Jud. Comm., Hr’g on S.B. 14 

(Jan. 13, 1981) at 4. Indeed, absent from the legislative history of Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231 is any mention of mandatory fines, that fines are unlikely to reduce 

future crimes, or that the fines are disproportionate on families of poor or minority 

defendants. See Mont. S. Jud. Comm., Hr’g on S.B. 14, 47th Leg. Sess. (Jan. 9, 
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1981) at 2-3; Mont. S. Jud. Comm., Hr’g on S.B. 14, 47th Leg. Sess. (Jan. 13, 

1981) at 4; Mont. S. Jud. Comm., Hr’g on S.B. 14, 47th Leg. Sess. (March 6, 1981) 

at 4-5; Executive Session of Mont. H. Jud. Comm., S.B. 14, 47th Leg. Sess. 

(March 10, 1981).  

Instead, the Legislature discussed the rising costs on counties for 

incarceration for offenses, such as white-collar crimes, where defendants with the 

ability to pay could be effectively punished by ordering a fine instead of 

incarceration. Mont. S. Jud. Comm., Hr’g on S.B. 14, 47th Leg. Sess. (March 6, 

1981) at 4-5; Executive Sess. of Mont. H. Jud. Comm., S.B. 14, 47th Leg. Sess. 

(March 10, 1981). The only mention of the disparate impact on poor defendants 

was that poor defendants would have to be incarcerated instead of paying a fine 

because they would likely not be able to pay the fine. See Executive Session of 

Mont. H. Jud. Comm., S.B. 14, 47th Leg. Sess. (March 10, 1981). 

Nor is it logical to assume that the 1981 Legislature, by enacting Mont. Code 

Ann. § 46-18-231(3)’s ability to pay provision, was establishing an “enlightened 

approach” to what proportionality for purposes of Montana’s Excessive Fines 

Clause included. This is especially true when viewed in the context of the 

evolution of the Eighth Amendment’s Excessive Fines Clause, which Montana’s 

Excessive Fines Clause mirrors. See U.S. Const. amend. VIII; Mont. Const. art. II, 

§ 22. In 1998, 17 years after the Legislature enacted Mont. Code Ann. 
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§ 46-18-231, the United States Supreme Court applied the Eighth Amendment’s 

Excessive Fines Clause for the first time in United States v. Bajakajian, 524 U.S. 

321, 327 (1998).  

In Bajakajian, the United States Supreme Court “adopt[ed its] standard of 

gross disproportionality articulated in [its] Cruel and Unusual Punishments Clause 

precedents,” and concluded that district courts determining proportionality “must 

compare the amount of the forfeiture to the gravity of the defendant’s offense.” 

Bajakajian, 524 U.S. at 336-37. If the district court concludes that the forfeiture 

amount “is grossly disproportional to the gravity of the defendant’s offense, it is 

unconstitutional.” Bajakajian, 524 U.S. at 337. Although Bajakajian dealt with 

criminal forfeiture, the United States Supreme Court analyzed the criminal 

forfeiture at issue in Bajakajian by examining the purpose for prohibiting fines, 

implicitly setting the same test for excessive fines as for excessive forfeitures for 

purposes of the Eighth Amendment. See Bajakajian, 524 U.S. at 334-37. To date, 

the United States Supreme Court has not expanded proportionality to include 

comparison of fines to an individual offender’s ability to pay when a fine provision 

is facially challenged under the Eighth Amendment.  

Simply put, this Court’s conclusion that the Legislature enacted Mont. Code 

Ann. § 46-18-231 as the embodiment of Montana’s Excessive Fines Clause is 

unsupported and contradicted by the legislation itself. First, when Mont. Code 
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Ann. § 46-18-231(3) was enacted, the United States Supreme Court had not set a 

test for what constituted an unconstitutionally excessive fine. Second, the history 

and plain language of Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231 do not support that the 

Legislature was even considering Montana’s Excessive Fines Clause when it 

enacted a statute that was meant to create alternative sentences for certain offenses. 

The Gibbons Court’s presumption to the contrary renders Gibbons manifestly 

wrong because, just as in Yang, this Court improperly elevated a statute designed 

for a specific purpose to a constitutional mandate rather than adhering to the basic 

rules of statutory construction. 

2. The Gibbons Court did not need to reach the 

constitutional question because principles of statutory 

construction support that Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019) should be harmonized with 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3). 

The Gibbons Court disregarded this Court’s standard practice of presuming 

legislative enactments to be constitutional and avoiding constitutional issues 

whenever possible, even though the Gibbons Court could have reached a similar 

conclusion—that the ability to pay must be considered before imposing a fine 

pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019)—by correctly employing 

principles of statutory construction. See S.M., ¶ 10; Russell, ¶ 19. 

Statutory construction requires the district court to simply “ascertain and 

declare what is in terms or in substance contained therein, not to insert what has 
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been omitted or to omit what has been inserted.” City of Missoula v. Fox, 2019 MT 

250, ¶ 18, 397 Mont. 388, 450 P.3d 898. “The starting point for interpreting a 

statute is the language of the statute itself.” State v. Christensen, 2020 MT 237, 

¶ 95, 401 Mont. 247, 472 P.3d 622. The plain meaning of the statute controls when 

the “intent of the Legislature can be determined from the plain meaning of the 

words used in the statute.” Id.   

When several statutes apply to a situation, the statutes should be construed, 

if possible, in a manner that will give effect to each of them. Fox, ¶ 18. “[T]he 

rules of statutory construction require us to reconcile statutes if it is possible to do 

so in a manner consistent with legislative intent.” Ross v. City of Great Falls, 

1998 MT 276, ¶ 19, 291 Mont. 377, 967 P.3d 1103. “Statutory construction should 

not lead to absurd results if a reasonable interpretation can avoid it.” Fox, ¶ 18. 

Because DUI offenses are not mentioned in Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231(1)(b), Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(1)(a) would apply to DUI 

sentences. Montana Code Annotated § 46-18-231 provides, in relevant part: 

(1) (a) Except as provided in subsection (1)(b), whenever, upon 

a verdict of guilty or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, an offender 

has been found guilty of an offense for which a felony penalty of 

imprisonment could be imposed, the sentencing judge may, in lieu of 

or in addition to a sentence of imprisonment, impose a fine only in 

accordance with subsection (3). 

. . . . 

 

(3) The sentencing judge may not sentence an offender to pay a 

fine unless the offender is or will be able to pay the fine and interest. 
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In determining the amount and method of payment, the sentencing 

judge shall take into account the nature of the crime committed, the 

financial resources of the offender, and the nature of the burden that 

payment of the fine interest will impose. 

 

Montana Code Annotated § 61-8-731(3) (2019) requires the district court to 

sentence the offender to the DOC for a term of 13 months to 5 years, or impose a 

fine of $5,000 to $10,000, or both. Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019). 

Montana Code Annotated § 46-18-231(1)(a) is, therefore, consistent with 

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-9-731(3) (2019),3 which provides that the district court can 

incarcerate an offender, impose a fine, or both. Given the similar intents based on 

the plain language, Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019) should be read in 

conjunction with Mont Code Ann. § 46-18-231(1)(a), (3). See Ross, ¶ 9.  

Under this interpretation, the district court, when imposing a sentence 

pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019), would have to conduct an 

ability to pay analysis before it imposed a fine. If the district court concludes that 

the offender has the ability to pay a fine, however, the district court would be 

confined to imposing a fine between $5,000 to $10,000 because this range is more 

specific than the $50,000 maximum fine available pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. 

 
3 Principles of statutory construction support that Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231 is only reconcilable with Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019) 

because that specific provision imposes a discretionary fine. Otherwise, principles 

of statutory construction support that mandatory fine provisions would control 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231. See Plouffe, ¶ 27. 
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§ 46-18-231. See State v. Plouffe, 2014 MT 183, ¶ 27, 375 Mont. 429, 329 P.3d 

1255 (“It is a well-established rule of statutory construction that specific provisions 

prevail over general provisions.”). 

When the relevant statutes are properly harmonized, the ability to pay is 

considered before a fine may be imposed pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019). However, the Gibbons Court disregarded statutory 

construction in favor of giving the Legislature credence only as to Mont. Code 

Ann. § 46-18-231 based on its own incorrect assessment of the purpose of enacting 

the statute, at the expense of the Legislature’s intent in enacting Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019). In doing so, the Gibbons Court showed its hand. Montana 

Code Annotated § 61-8-731(3) (2019) is not legally unconstitutional, but rather it 

is unconscionable to the Gibbons Court because it does not provide what the 

Gibbons Court would have enacted if it had been the Legislature: an ability to pay 

analysis before imposing any fine. 

In other words, the Gibbons Court’s disregard of this Court’s settled practice 

of not reaching constitutional questions and correctly employing principles of 

statutory construction has resulted in the Gibbons Court creating “a bad decision”  

that impacts both the Legislature’s ability to set proportional penalties and the 

safety of Montana citizens. See Gibbons, ¶ 62. Thus, the doctrine of stare decisis 

requires this Court to overrule Gibbons.  
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3. Montana Code Annotated § 61-8-731(3) (2019)’s fine 

is proportional to the gravity of the offense.  

 

Gibbons is also manifestly wrong because the Gibbons Court failed to 

acknowledge that the Legislature has consistently enacted DUI penalties that 

increase exponentially in relation to the number of DUI convictions. In other 

words, the Gibbons Court, by choosing to focus only on Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231, overlooked that the Legislature has exemplified the concept of 

proportionality to the gravity of the offense by providing harsher penalties for 

repeat DUI offenders to address repeated dangerous behavior that impacts all 

Montanans. 

The Eighth Amendment of the United States Constitution and article II, 

section 22 of the Montana Constitution protect a defendant’s right to be free from 

excessive fines. Proportionality is the touchstone of the Eighth Amendment’s and 

Montana’s Excessive Fines Clauses. Yang, ¶ 16. The fine amount “must bear some 

relationship to the gravity of the offense that it is designed to punish.” Id.  

Fines have been part of the DUI sentencing scheme in Montana since 1955. 

Although the fines were discretionary, the Legislature, in 1955, set fine ranges for 

each level of DUI offense. Mont. Rev. Code § 32-2132(5)(d). For instance, the first 

offense DUI was punishable by six months in jail, or a fine of $100 to $500, or 

both. Id. A second offense DUI was punishable by 10 days to 6 months in jail and, 

at the court’s discretion, a fine of $300 to $500. Id. A third or subsequent 
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conviction was punishable by 30 days to 1 year in jail and, at the court’s discretion, 

a fine of $500 to $1,000. Id. 

In 1979, the Legislature eliminated jail sentences for first and second offense 

DUIs, instead requiring those offenders to only pay a fine:  

Every person who is convicted of a violation of 61-8-401 shall be 

punished by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500. On a 

second conviction, he shall be punished by a fine of not less than $300 

or more than $500. On the third or subsequent conviction, he shall be 

punished by imprisonment for a term of not less than 30 days or more 

than 1 year, which may be added, in the discretion of the court, a fine 

of not less than $500 or more than $1,000. 

 

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-714(1) (1979). 

Then, in 1981, the same year that the Legislature enacted Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231,4 the Legislature maintained mandatory fines for first and second 

offense DUIs. Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-714(1)-(2) (1981). At that time, “[t]he fine 

for shooting a deer out of season in Montana [was] higher than [DUI] on the first 

offense.” Mont. S. Jud. Comm., Hr’g on H.B. 364, 47th Leg. Sess. (Jan. 30, 1981) 

at 3. The Legislature struggled with this disparity, especially because DUIs were “a 

serious problem in Montana,” with 164 or “half of the people killed in accidents, 

involved a drunk driver,” and “[t]wo-thirds of people stopped for [DUI were 

considered] problem drinkers.” Id. at 2. As a result, the Legislature felt that “[t]he 

 
4 “[T]he Legislature is presumed to act with deliberation and with full 

knowledge of all existing laws on the subject.” Mont. Sports Shooting Ass’n v. 

State, 2008 MT 190, ¶ 41, 344 Mont. 1, 185 P.3d 1003. 
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time ha[d] come for [them] to try to take some direct and forceful action to try to 

cut down on the number of fatalities.” Highway and Transportation Comm., Hr’g 

on H.B. 364, 47th Legislative Sess. (March 10, 1981) at 4. The Legislature’s goal 

with changing the sentences available was to attempt to find a “balance between 

punitive and rehabilitative.” Id. at 1. 

In 1989, the Legislature made the fine mandatory for a third or subsequent 

DUI conviction. Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-714(3); Mont. S. Jud. Comm., Hr’g on 

H.B. 425, 51st Leg. Sess. (March 16, 1989) at 7. The purpose of House Bill 425 

was to diminish the impact of drunk drivers in Montana. Mont. H. Jud. Comm., 

Hr’g on H.B. 425, 51st Leg. Sess. (Feb. 7, 1989) at 1. By 1989, it was reported that 

only 1 out of every 2,000 drunk drivers was being arrested and drunk driving was 

the leading cause of death for people ages 15 to 40. Id. Many drunk drivers drive 

“at least 100 times intoxicated before they are caught the first time.” Id. at 5-6. By 

implementing harsher penalties, the Legislature hoped to deter that conduct, with 

the goal of stunting fatalities from drunk driving accidents. Id. at 1-2.  

The Legislature’s concerns in the 1980s remain true today: Montana 

consistently has a high percentage of fatal accidents caused by drunk driving. 

See NHTSA, 2021 Traffic Safety Facts: Alcohol-Impaired Driving, at 9-10 (June 

2023) (leading the nation in percentage of fatal accidents caused by drunk driving); 

NHTSA, 2022 Traffic Safety Facts: Alcohol-Impaired Driving, at 9-10 (June 2024) 
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(exceeding the national average in percentage of fatal accidents caused by drunk 

driving). 

To combat the tragedies caused by drunk drivers in Montana, the Legislature 

has implemented a sentencing scheme that continues to impose mandatory fine 

ranges for every DUI offense level along with residential treatment and 

incarceration. As this Court recognized in Gibbons, “only the Legislature [ ] has 

the authority to determine the offense and penalty.” Gibbons, ¶ 52. The Legislature 

clearly complied with that directive and, in doing so, it considered the 

proportionality between the gravity of each DUI offense and provided a 

corresponding, proportional fine range to deter offenders from committing repeat 

DUIs. Moreover, the mandatory nature of the fines ensures equal treatment for all 

offenders statewide. 

Indeed, the Gibbons Court even noted that “the clear purpose and intent of 

the [L]egislature under § 61-8-731, MCA, was to impose an enhanced financial 

penalty for felony DUIs.” Gibbons, ¶ 56 n.3. The Legislature ensured 

proportionality with those enhanced penalties, especially for offenders sentenced 

pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019), which has additional 

requirements that must be met. 

Before the district court can impose a fine pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019), the person must either (1) be convicted of violating 



25 

Mont. Code Ann. §§ 61-8-401, -406, -411, or -465, and have a single conviction 

under Mont. Code Ann. § 45-5-106; or (2) have any combination of four or more 

convictions under Mont. Code Ann. §§ 45-5-104, -205, -628, 61-8-401, -406, or     

-465, with the offense under § 45-5-104 occurring while the person was operating 

a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, a dangerous drug, and/or any other drug, 

as provided in § 61-8-401(1). The person must also have been, “upon a prior 

conviction, placed in a residential alcohol treatment program under subsection 

(2).” Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019).  

After a person satisfies the conviction and prior enrollment in residential 

treatment thresholds of Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019), the district court 

shall sentence the offender to the DOC for a term of 13 months to 5 years, or 

impose a fine of $5,000 to $10,000, or both. Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) 

(2019) (emphasis added). As Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019)’s plain 

language clearly states, the district court is not mandated to impose a fine.  

However, if the district court elects to impose a fine, the district court is required to 

impose a fine that is not less than $5,000, and not more than $10,000. Nonetheless, 

if the district court imposes a fine, the district court being required to impose a 

$5,000 mandatory minimum fine does not negate that Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019) incorporates the concept of proportionality.  
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4. Consideration of an offender’s ability to pay a 

mandatory fine is more appropriately considered an 

as-applied, and not a facial, challenge to Montana’s 

Excessive Fines Clause.  

 

The Gibbons Court concluded that a fine is not excessive if it is both 

proportional to the gravity of the offense and to the offender. Gibbons, ¶ 56. In 

support of this conclusion, the Gibbons Court not only continued to rely on 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3), but also on the United States Supreme Court’s 

recitation of the history of the Eighth Amendment’s excessive fines clause as 

existing to ensure that economic punishments are not only “proportioned to the 

wrong,” but also that they “not be so large as to deprive [an offender] of his 

livelihood.” Gibbons, ¶ 48 (citing Timbs v. Indiana, 586 U.S. 146, 151 (2019)). 

However, the United States Supreme Court, in Bajakajian, when assessing a facial 

constitutional challenge to an economic punishment, only accounted for the 

proportionality of the economic punishment to the gravity of the offense, with no 

consideration for the livelihood of the offender. This rationale is consistent with 

the distinction between facial and as-applied constitutional challenges.  

“A defendant’s facial constitutional challenge is based on the defendant’s 

allegation that the statute upon which the district court based her sentence is 

unconstitutional.” Yang, ¶ 11 (emphasis in original). To prevail on a facial 

challenge, the challenging party must show that “no set of circumstances exists 
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under which the statute would be valid or that the statute lacks a plainly legitimate 

sweep.” Yang, ¶ 14 (internal quotations and citations omitted).  

As this relates to mandatory fines generally, and specifically the challenged 

fine range under Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019), the challenging party 

would have to show that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019)’s fine range, 

under no set of circumstances, is proportional to the gravity of the offense.  

As discussed more thoroughly above, the Legislature created DUI fines that 

are proportional to the gravity of the offense. As it relates specifically to Mont. Code 

Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019)’s fine range, it is proportional to receive a fine of $5,000 

to $10,000 when the offender is being sentenced for a fourth or subsequent DUI, and 

the offender has already received treatment during a previous DUI sentence and has 

demonstrated an inability to drive safely and sober. The Legislature, thus, considered 

the gravity of the offense when it set the mandatory fine.  

A facial challenge cannot, and should not, consider proportionality to each 

offender. Instead, it should be appropriately considered as an as applied challenge. 

“A defendant’s as-applied constitutional challenge is based on the defendant’s 

allegation that her sentence is unconstitutional, although imposed pursuant to a 

constitutional sentencing statute.” Yang, ¶ 11 (emphasis in original).  

Even if Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019) is not reconciled with 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3), as argued above, district courts remain free to 
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consider ability to pay objections to mandatory fines through as-applied challenges 

under Montana’s Excessive Fines Clause. In other words, if the offender argues 

that he has no ability to pay the fine, which would render the fine excessive to him 

because it would deprive him of his livelihood, the district court would be free to 

not impose the mandatory fine as it would be unconstitutional as to that offender, 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3) aside.  

By failing to properly frame the issue raised in Gibbons as an as-applied 

challenge, the Gibbons Court effectively concluded that under no set of 

circumstances could Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019) be constitutional. The 

Gibbons Court did so while also notably concluding that “[m]andatory minimum 

fines can produce punishment that is disproportionate and unjust when the 

offender’s ability to pay is not considered.” Gibbons, ¶ 54 (emphasis added). In 

other words, the Gibbons Court, by using the word can, recognized that 

circumstances exist under which a fine imposed pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 61-8-731(3) (2019) is constitutionally proportional. The Gibbons Court’s 

conclusion that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) (2019) is facially unconstitutional, 

while focusing on the offender’s individual livelihood, impermissibly conflated the 

two available constitutional challenges, rendering Gibbons manifestly wrong.  

The holding in Gibbons was manifestly wrong because it failed to recognize 

that constitutionally required proportionality was infused into Mont. Code Ann. 
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§ 61-8-731(3) (2019) when the Legislature set the penalty. This failure, along with 

improperly equating statutory language from Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231 as part 

of Montana’s Excessive Fines Clause, failing to harmonize the two statutes at 

issue, and improperly framing the challenge as a facial challenge when a 

proportionality to the offender challenge is more appropriately considered as an 

as-applied challenge, all established that this Court should overrule Gibbons.   

 

III. Even if Gibbons applies, the district court did not abuse its 

discretion when it imposed Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) 

(2019).  

A. The district court considered the applicable statutes and 

considered Cole’s ability to pay before it imposed a $5,000 

fine as part of Cole’s sentence.  

Even if this Court extends Gibbons to Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) 

(2019)’s mandatory fine range, the district court did not abuse its discretion when 

it imposed a $5,000 fine following consideration of Cole’s ability to pay.  

To the extent that Gibbons’s holding is, as Cole asserts, that the $5,000 

mandatory minimum fine is unconstitutional and, therefore, struck from the statute, 

the district court still had the discretion to impose a $5,000 fine pursuant to Mont. 

Code Ann. § 46-18-213. (See Appellant’s Br. at 11.) Montana Code Annotated 

§ 46-18-213 provides that when an offender is convicted of a felony offense with 

no financial penalty stated, the district court, in its discretion, may impose a fine 
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not to exceed $50,000. If Gibbons results in mandatory minimum fines being 

struck in their entirety, then the fine range would default to the range provided at 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-213. Because Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-213 has a 

discretionary fine range, Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(1)(a) and (3) would apply. 

As such, the district court did not abuse its discretion when it imposed a $5,000 

fine after considering Cole’s ability to pay.  

Alternatively, if Gibbons’s holding is that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(3) 

(2019)’s mandatory minimum fine is unconstitutional because it does not authorize 

the district court to conduct an ability to pay analysis, the district court, here, 

complied with Gibbons because it did conduct an ability to pay analysis. Before 

imposing the fine, the district court explicitly asked Cole about his current 

financial situation. Cole informed the district court of his housing situation, his 

monthly expenses, and that he currently was not employed but was receiving social 

security. Based on that information, the district court credited $100 against the fine 

and suspended $4,900 of the fine to prevent a financial hardship on Cole over the 

course of his sentence.   

The district court appropriately considered Cole’s financial circumstances 

when it elected to suspend the remaining portion of his fine because statutorily it 

did not have the authority to not impose the $5,000 fine. Montana Code Annotated 

§ 46-18-231(1)(a) provides, in relevant part, and except for the offenses listed at 
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Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(1)(b), that after an offender has been found guilty 

by verdict or plea, the district court “may, in lieu of or in addition to a sentence of 

imprisonment, impose a fine only in accordance with subsection (3).”  DUI is not 

an offense listed at Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(1)(b).  

Accordingly, based on the plain language of Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-231(1)(a), a district court has the ability to impose the fine in lieu of 

imposing a mandatory minimum custodial sentence required in DUI offenses. 

Because this interpretation of the statutes leads to an absurd result, it cannot be the 

correct interpretation. Indeed, the correct statutory interpretation of Mont. Code 

Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) is that because it mandates the district court 

impose a $5,000 to $10,000 fine, without mention of ability to pay or cross-reference 

to Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3), Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) 

is the more specific statute. As such, Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019) 

controls Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3), which is a general statute. See Plouffe, 

¶ 27. 

Because Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-231(3) does not apply to Mont. Code 

Ann. § 61-8-731(1)(a)(iii) (2019)’s fine provision, the district court correctly 

imposed the $5,000 mandatory fine. However, the district court also correctly used 

the evidence that it heard regarding Cole’s ability to pay to suspend his fine, which 

it had the authority to do. District courts have the authority to suspend fines. 
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State v. Curran, 2023 MT 118, ¶ 25, 412 Mont. 499, 531 P.3d 547 (relying on 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-201(2)(a), (3)(b)). This includes mandatory fines. 

Curran, ¶ 28. The district court correctly used its discretion when it suspended the 

remainder of Cole’s $5,000 fine after inquiring into his ability to pay the fine.  

B. The record supports that imposition of the $5,000 fine was 

proportional to Cole’s specific DUI offense and his 

individual circumstances. 

As argued above, in order to consider whether a fine is constitutionally 

proportional under the Excessive Fines Clause to an offender’s own characteristics 

and circumstances, the challenge must be raised as an as-applied constitutional 

challenge. Construing Cole’s ability to pay objection as an as-applied 

constitutional challenge, Cole cannot establish that the fine was disproportionate to 

the circumstances of the DUI offense and his individual circumstances.  

The instant DUI is the result of Cole taking various prescription medications 

and Benadryl, along with drinking whiskey before driving around Missoula. Cole 

fell by his vehicle before driving a second time. Cole’s son had to call law 

enforcement out of concern for Cole. Cole could not complete the SFSTs. Indeed, 

law enforcement nearly had to catch Cole during the SFSTs. Cole’s BAC was 

0.126. Yet, he believed he was safe to drive. And, during the pendency of this case, 

Cole’s first felony DUI, Cole was charged with another felony DUI, which was 

ultimately dismissed pursuant to the plea agreement.  
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In the plea agreement, Cole agreed that he had the ability to pay the 

monetary obligations listed, which included the $5,000 fine. He was working on 

obtaining housing that would cost one-third of his income. Cole had a storage unit 

he was paying for because he did not have a permanent residence for his 

belongings. He had minimal other bills or expenses. Cole receives social security 

and is in his 60s. Absent from the record is any discussion of Cole’s inability to 

procure employment. Cole agreed he could pay the $450 supervision fee over time.  

The record supports that over the course of his sentence, Cole had the ability 

to pay the $5,000 fine. Nonetheless, the district court suspended the remaining 

$4,900 of the fine imposed in an effort to limit Cole’s financial hardships during 

his sentence as long as he remained compliant with his conditions.  

In sum, the district court appropriately imposed the $5,000 fine as a means 

to deter Cole’s future conduct and to protect his safety and the safety of the public. 

The district court also appropriately suspended the fine subject to conditions to 

account for Cole’s financial circumstances. The $5,000 fine, less $100 for credit, 

and suspension of the remainder, was not disproportionate to Cole, the offender. 

As such, Cole has not established that the $5,000 fine was constitutionally 

excessive as applied to him. 
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CONCLUSION 

This Court should affirm Cole’s conviction and sentence. 

Respectfully submitted this 26th day of February, 2025. 

AUSTIN KNUDSEN 

Montana Attorney General 
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