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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

Whether the district court erred in concluding that Appellant’s six prior 

convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) offenses in California could be 

counted under Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-734 (2019) to enhance Appellant’s 

sentence.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The State charged Appellant Christopher Lapointe (Lapointe) by 

Information with DUI/Alcohol (fourth or subsequent offense), a felony, in 

violation of Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-401. (D.C. Doc. 4.) The State’s affidavit of 

probable cause provided that “[a] records check on [Lapointe] showed that he had 

prior DUI convictions out of the State of California from 1999, 2007, two in 2009, 

2010 and 2016.” (D.C. Doc. 1 at 3.) Those convictions were later set out in the 

Presentence Investigation Report (PSI) (D.C. Doc. 55 at 2-4) as follows:

Arrest
Date

Conviction 
Date Offense Convicted of Sentence

11/4/1999 11/17/1999 1. DUI Alcohol Causing 
Bodily Injury (felony)

36 months probation
120 days jail

10/13/2006 9/11/2007 1. DUI (misdemeanor) 60 months probation
120 days jail

11/21/2008 3/5/2009 1. DUI (felony)
2. DUI BAC ≥ .08 (felony)

1. 24 months prison 
consecutive

2. 24 months prison 
stayed
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1/3/2009 3/5/2009 1. DUI (felony)
2. DUI While on Bail or 

Released O/R

1. 24 months prison 
consecutive

2. 24 months prison 
stayed

7/2/2010 7/16/2010 1. DUI (felony) 16 months prison 
consecutive

3/26/2016 8/18/2016 1. DUI with Prior 
Conviction (felony)

2. DUI BAC ≥ .08 with 
Priors (felony)

1. 60 months prob.
336 days jail

2. 60 months prob.
336 days jail

At no point during the district court proceedings, nor in his Appellant’s Brief, has

Lapointe contested the existence or validity of his California convictions.

In the omnibus memorandum filed on April 12, 2021, Lapointe indicated he 

intended to file a pretrial “motion addressing prior DUI convictions” and the 

district court set a briefing schedule and dates for a final pretrial conference and a 

jury trial. (D.C. Doc. 29 at 2, 5-6.) On April 26, 2021, after the State filed a 

verified application to revoke release due to Lapointe’s violation of the terms of his 

release, the district court issued a bench warrant. (D.C. Docs. 30, 31.)

When Lapointe failed to appear on the date set for the final pretrial 

conference and the bench warrant remained outstanding, Lapointe’s attorney—who 

had no information regarding Lapointe’s whereabouts—requested the jury trial 

date be vacated. The district court vacated the jury trial. (D.C. Doc. 33.) Law 

enforcement officers arrested Lapointe on April 20, 2022. (D.C. Doc. 34.) Lapointe 

appeared with counsel before the court on May 2, 2022, admitted to the allegations 

in the State’s verified application to revoke release, and the court found him in 
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violation of the court’s conditions of release. (D.C. Doc. 37.) The court imposed a 

new conditional release order and scheduled an omnibus hearing for May 16, 2022.

(Id.) At the omnibus hearing, the court set dates for a final pretrial conference and 

a jury trial. (D.C. Doc. 39.)

On July 5, 2022, the State filed another verified application to revoke release 

on the grounds Lapointe had consumed alcohol on two separate occasions and 

requested the court issue a warrant for his arrest. (D.C. Doc. 40.) The court issued 

a bench warrant on July 7, 2022. (D.C. Doc. 41.)

On August 26, 2022, Lapointe filed his pretrial motion addressing his prior 

DUI convictions and requested the court dismiss the felony enhancement.

(D.C. Doc. 42.) The State responded to the motion, objecting on both substantive 

and procedural grounds. (D.C. Doc. 44.) The district court denied Lapointe’s 

request to dismiss the felony enhancement, finding that the motion he filed was 

15 months late and therefore untimely. (D.C. Doc. 47.)

At the final pretrial hearing on October 24, 2022, Lapointe appeared with 

counsel and informed the court he wished to change his plea. (D.C. Doc. 50.) The 

court engaged in a standard change of plea colloquy with Lapointe, confirmed that 

no plea agreement existed, and asked the prosecutor to state the maximum penalty 

possible. (Id.) The minute entry confirms Lapointe pled guilty to Count 1 of the 

Information and stated the factual basis for his plea with the assistance of his 
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counsel. (Id.) The court accepted the guilty plea, found Lapointe guilty, set a 

sentencing date of January 9, 2023, ordered Lapointe to report to probation and 

parole so a PSI could be completed, and quashed the bench warrant issued on 

July 7 that was still outstanding. (Id.)

On November 4, 2022, probation and parole filed a report with the court 

indicating Lapointe had failed to appear for his scheduled PSI interview 

appointment. (D.C. Doc. 54.) It appears Lapointe subsequently attended an 

interview as a PSI was completed and filed on December 2, 2022. (D.C. Doc. 55.)

On December 31, 2022, the State filed another verified application to revoke 

conditional release due to Lapointe’s failure to report for testing on four dates in 

December, as well as Lapointe’s consumption of alcohol. (D.C. Doc. 56.) On 

January 4, 2023, the court issued the requested warrant. (D.C. Doc. 57.) 

On January 6, 2023, Lapointe moved to continue the sentencing hearing and 

asked the court “to reconsider the filing of a motion addressing Mr. Lapointe’s 

prior DUI convictions, and the rectitude of utilizing those convictions in 

aggravating his conviction in this case.” (D.C. Doc. 58.) Lapointe appeared in 

court with his attorney on January 9, 2023, at which time the court granted his 

motion to continue sentencing and ordered him to file any motions he deemed 

necessary. (D.C. Doc. 59.) The court addressed the application to revoke release, 
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Lapointe admitted he had committed the violations alleged by the State, including 

the consumption of alcohol, and the court quashed the current warrant. (Id.)

On January 20, 2023, Lapointe filed a motion to dismiss the felony 

enhancement of the pending DUI charge. (D.C. Doc. 64.) The State filed its 

response on February 23, 2023, notifying the court it intended to rely on its 2022 

response brief, which had substantively addressed virtually the same defense 

motion. (D.C. Doc. 66.) The court issued its decision and order on Lapointe’s 

motion on March 6, 2023, denying his request to dismiss the felony enhancement 

of the DUI to which he had pled guilty. (D.C. Doc. 67.)

The court sentenced Lapointe on April 24, 2023, stayed the custodial portion 

of the sentence, and ordered conditions of release. (D.C. Docs. 71-74.) Lapointe 

filed notice of appeal to this Court on July 25, 2023. (D.C. Doc. 79.) On July 26, 

2023, the State filed in the district court another verified application to revoke 

conditional release on the grounds Lapointe had consumed alcohol on July 3, 2023, 

in violation of the April 24 release order. (D.C. Doc. 81.) The district court issued 

a summons. (D.C. Doc. 82.)

/ / /



6

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS1

On July 24, 2020, around 9:03 p.m., an employee at the Lucky Lil’s Casino 

located at 2401 West Main St. in Bozeman, Montana, called 9-1-1 to report an 

intoxicated driver. (D.C. Doc. 1 at 1.) The employee reported a male had just left 

the casino drunk, climbed behind the wheel of a green Dodge Durango parked near 

the casino, and driven across Main Street. (Id.) The casino employees had refused 

to serve Lapointe due to his apparent level of intoxication. (Id.)

Officers with the Bozeman Police Department located the described 

Durango in the parking lot of 2504 West Main St. (Id.) The officers did not 

activate their emergency lights and parked their patrol vehicles away from the 

Durango, not behind it or blocking it in. (Id. at 2.) One of the officers exited his 

patrol vehicle and approached the Durango, where he observed a male in the 

driver’s seat. (Id.) The officer knocked on the driver’s window, the male opened 

the driver’s door, and the officer immediately smelled the odor of an alcoholic 

beverage coming from the male. (Id.) The officer asked the male to produce his 

driver’s license, the male then struggled to retrieve it from his wallet, and, after 

being unsuccessful, handed the whole wallet to the other officer who had 

                                        
1 Since Lapoint pled guilty, the State relies on the affidavit of probable cause 

filed by the prosecutor in support of the motion for leave to file an Information.
(D.C. Doc. 1.) 
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approached to retrieve the license for him. (Id.) The second officer located and 

removed the license from the wallet and identified the male as Lapointe. (Id.)

The second officer observed the keys to the Durango were still in the 

ignition. (Id.) She further observed that Lapointe’s eyes were bloodshot and 

watery, that he smelled of alcohol, and that his speech was slurred as he spoke.

(Id.) Lapointe volunteered that he was waiting at that location for someone to bring 

him “pot.” (Id.)

The officers conducted standard field sobriety testing of Lapointe and, based 

on the results, requested a preliminary breath test (PBT). (Id. at 2-3.) Lapointe 

refused the PBT. (Id. at 3.) The officers arrested Lapointe and transported him to 

the detention center, where he agreed to provide breath samples after an officer 

read him the Montana Implied Consent Advisory. (Id.) The certified breath testing 

instrument showed Lapointe’s BAC was .203, more than twice the legal limit. (Id.)

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Under Mont. Code Ann.2 § 61-8-734(1)(a), a conviction from another state 

for violating a statute similar to one of Montana’s DUI statutes is included for “the 

purpose of determining the number of convictions for prior offenses.” The other 

state’s DUI statute is not required to be identical or the same; it need only be 

                                        
2 All references are to the 2019 version of Mont. Code. Ann.
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similar. In California, the “place of offense,” where a DUI can occur, is “upon the 

highways and elsewhere throughout the State” of California. (Cal. Veh. Code 

§ 23100.) The “place of offense” for DUIs under Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-

401(1)(b), (c) and (d), is anywhere “within this state,” nearly identical to 

California’s statute. Only one type of DUI in Montana, one involving only alcohol 

under § -401(1)(a), defines the “place of offense” as “upon the ways of this state 

open to the public.” For decades, Montana has stacked convictions under 

§ -401(1)(a) that occur “upon the ways of this state open to the public” with 

convictions under § -401(1)(b), (c) and (d) that occur anywhere “within this state,”

which is prima facie evidence that the two “places of offense” are similar under 

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-734(1)(a).

To the extent that Lapointe argues the “place of offense” element for 

alcohol-only DUIs in the California and Montana statutes is dissimilar, when 

considering differing language from other states regarding other elements of DUI, 

such as impairment, this Court has always focused its consideration on whether a 

defendant in another state can be convicted on a standard of lesser culpability.

Because California extends the “place of offense” for alcohol-only DUIs to the 

highways or elsewhere throughout the state, including public roadways, and 

Montana limits the “place of offense” for alcohol-only DUIs to the ways of this 

state open to the public, the California statute creates a standard of culpability that
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is greater than the Montana statute. In any event, a defendant can be convicted of a 

DUI by driving impaired on the public roadways of both states. 

But, even if this Court disagrees that California provides for greater 

culpability, Lapointe does not challenge the validity of any of his California 

convictions of which the State gave him notice. Instead, he asks for those 

convictions to have no bearing on his current DUI conviction in Montana because 

maybe the “place of offense” where he committed all six of his DUIs in California 

was exclusively on private property. If, in fact, this was true for each of his 

offenses and subsequent convictions, then Lapointe is in the best position to have 

that information. Common sense dictates that it is highly unlikely each of 

Lapointe’s California offenses occurred exclusively on private property because, 

even if he was arrested on private property, he undoubtedly traveled on public 

roadways to get there.

For Montana’s alcohol-only DUI “place of offense” element—upon the 

ways of this state open to the public—this Court should adopt the rationale of other 

states and hold that when a defendant challenges this element of a prior out-of-state 

conviction as dissimilar, and thereby argues against counting the prior conviction 

under Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-734, the defendant must present reliable evidence 

that those prior offenses occurred exclusively on private property, i.e., some place 

other than the ways of the state that are open to the public, thereby establishing that 
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the defendant could not have been convicted in Montana. Otherwise, the vast 

majority of out-of-state convictions would not count for enhancement purposes 

because in most states the “place of offense” for a DUI can be anywhere, although 

common sense dictates that most DUIs occur on public roadways.

ARGUMENT

I. Standard of review

“Whether a prior conviction may be used for sentence enhancement is 

generally a question of law.” State v. Maine, 2011 MT 90, ¶ 12, 360 Mont. 182, 

255 P.3d 64. “Whether a prior conviction may be used to enhance a criminal 

sentence is an issue of law we review de novo for correctness.” State v. Pankhurst, 

2022 MT 89, ¶ 4, 408 Mont. 309, 509 P.3d 15 (citing State v. Lund, 2020 MT 53, 

¶ 6, 399 Mont. 159, 458 P.3d 1043, and State v. Krebs, 2016 MT 288, ¶ 7, 

385 Mont. 328, 384 P.3d 98). “A defendant who seeks to challenge the use of a 

prior conviction for sentence enhancement must overcome a ‘presumption of 

regularity’ that attaches to prior convictions.” State v. Sirles, 2010 MT 88, ¶ 25, 

356 Mont. 133, 231 P.3d 1089.

/ / /
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II. The district court correctly denied Lapointe’s motion to ignore his 
six prior DUI convictions in California and to treat his DUI in 
Montana as a misdemeanor first offense.

A. Introduction

Lapointe does not dispute that he has six prior valid convictions for the 

offense of DUI that he committed in California. He argues that because 

California’s DUI law does not include as “an essential element of any alcohol 

based DUI” that the offense must occur “on the ways of the state open to the 

public” as is required under Montana law, this makes the DUI statutes of the two 

states “significantly dissimilar” and precludes his California convictions from 

enhancing the sentence for the DUI he admits he committed in Montana. 

(Appellant’s Br. at 6-7).

This Court held in State v. Calvert, 2013 MT 374, ¶ 8, 373 Mont. 152, 

316 P.3d 173 (citing State v. Polaski, 2005 MT 13, ¶¶ 16-17, 325 Mont. 351, 

106 P.3d 538), that “[i]n evaluating whether another state’s statutes are similar to 

Montana’s statutes, we compare the statutes in effect at the time the offense was 

committed.” Lapointe admitted he committed the offense of DUI in Montana on 

June 24, 2020. On that date, the 2019 version of the Montana Code Annotated was 

in effect.

Montana Code Annotated § 61-8-734(1)(a) plainly states that “[f]or the 

purpose of determining the number of convictions for prior [DUI] offenses,” a 
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conviction includes a “conviction for a violation of a similar statute or regulation

in another state[.]” (Emphasis added.) Section -734(1)(a) does not require the other 

state’s statute or regulation to be the same, identical, or equivalent. The Legislature 

did not define the word “similar,” therefore this Court “reasonably and logically 

[will] give words their usual and ordinary meaning.” State v. Levine, 2024 MT 169, 

¶ 15, 417 Mont. 410, 553 P.3d 416. The American Heritage Dictionary 

(https://ahdictionary.com) defines the word “similar” as an adjective meaning 

“[h]aving a resemblance in appearance or nature; alike though not identical.” 

Dictionary.com (https://www.dictionary.com) defines it as “having a likeness or 

resemblance, especially in a general way[.]”

Importantly, the Montana Legislature did not preface the word “similar”

with a descriptive adverb such as “substantially” or “significantly” to qualify the 

level of similarity required, as a number of other states have done. See, for 

example, the following states’ stacking statutes (with emphases added): D.C. Code 

§ 50-2206.01(17) (“‘Prior offense’ means any guilty plea or verdict . . . or a 

disposition in another jurisdiction for a substantially similar offense[.]”); 

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-227a(g)(“conviction in any other state of any offense the 

essential elements of which are determined by the court to be substantially the 

same”); Idaho Code § 18-8005(6) (“any substantially conforming foreign criminal 

violation”); MCLS § 257.625(25)(b) (“‘Prior conviction’ means a conviction for 
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any . . . law of another state substantially corresponding to the law of this 

state[.]”); N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-4.01(24)(d) (“[a]n offense committed in another 

jurisdiction which prohibits substantially similar conduct prohibited by the 

offenses in this subsection”); and 75 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3806(a)(3) (“an offense 

substantially similar to an offense under [Pennsylvania law] in another 

jurisdiction”).

B. The Montana and California DUI statutes are similar.

To determine under Mont. Code. Ann. § 61-8-734(1) whether the Montana 

and California statutes for the offense of DUI are similar, the Court in Calvert held 

that “[i]t matters not whether another state organizes its statutes differently than 

Montana, so long as they contain analogous provisions.” Calvert, ¶ 8 (citing 

State v. Hall, 2004 MT 106, ¶ 20, 321 Mont. 78, 88 P.3d 1273). Montana Code 

Annotated § 61- 8-401(1) defines the offense of DUI as follows:

It is unlawful and punishable, as provided in 61-8-442, 61-8-714, 
and 61-8-731 through 61-8-734, for a person who is under the 
influence of:

(a) alcohol to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle upon 
the ways of this state open to the public;

(b) a dangerous drug to drive or be in actual physical control of a 
vehicle within this state;

(c) any other drug to drive or be in actual physical control of a 
vehicle within this state; or

/ / /
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(d) alcohol and any dangerous or other drug to drive or be in actual 
physical control of a vehicle within this state.

(Emphasis added.)

It is important to note that each subsection of Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-

401(1) defines a separate DUI offense, which can be better compared with another 

state’s DUI laws by charting them out as follows:

It is unlawful and punishable for a person to 
drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle


EITHER:
upon the ways of this state open to the 
public while
under the influence of:
 Alcohol;

OR: 
within this state while
under the influence of:

 a dangerous drug;
 any other drug; or
 alcohol and any dangerous or other 

drug.
As demonstrated by the chart, Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-401(1), defines the “place 

of offense” for alcohol-only DUIs as “upon the ways of this state open to the 

public” and defines the “place of offense” for the three other types of DUI as 

“within this state.”

/ / /
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On the date of Lapointe’s current offense, the version of the California 

statute defining the offense of DUI, Cal. Veh. Code § 23152, had been in effect 

since January 1, 2017.3 California Vehicle Code § 23152 defined California’s 

DUI-related offenses in relevant part as follows:

(a) It is unlawful for a person who is under the influence of any 
alcoholic beverage to drive a vehicle.

(b) It is unlawful for a person who has 0.08 percent or more, by 
weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle.

. . . .

(f) It is unlawful for a person who is under the influence of any 
drug to drive a vehicle.

(g) It is unlawful for a person who is under the combined influence 
of any alcoholic beverage and drug to drive a vehicle.

Nowhere in the body of California’s DUI statute is a “place of offense” specified;

however, Cal. Veh. Code § 23100 provides: “The provisions of this chapter apply 

to vehicles upon the highways and elsewhere throughout the State unless expressly 

provided otherwise.” (Emphasis added.) Because a “way of the state open to the 

public” falls within California’s definition, a person can be convicted in both 

Montana and California for a DUI occurring on a public roadway. 

                                        
3 The general rule for the effective dates of California statutes is found in 

California Constitution Art. IV, § (9)(c)(1), which provides that unless a bill calls 
an election, contains an urgency clause, or is a budget-related or tax levy measure, 
the effective date of a new statute is January 1 of the following year.
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Like the applicability provisions of Cal. Veh. Code § 23100, Montana’s 

applicability provisions can be found at Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-101(2), which 

provides:

The provisions of this chapter relating to the operation of vehicles 
refer exclusively to the operation of vehicles upon highways except: 

(a) where a different place is specifically referred to in a given 
section; 

(b) the provisions of 61-8-301 and 61-8-401(1)(b), (1)(c), and (2), 
with regard to operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs, 
apply anywhere within this state; 

(c) the provisions of 61-8-301 and 61-8-401 except subsections (1)(b), 
(1)(c), and (2) thereof, 61-8-402 through 61-8-405, and 61-8-465, 
with regard to operating a vehicle while under the influence of 
alcohol, apply upon all ways of this state open to the public.

(Emphasis added.) Subsection (d) of Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-401(1)—regarding a 

DUI involving the combination of alcohol and drugs—is absent from Mont. Code 

Ann. § 61-8-101(2), but the “place of offense” is expressly defined in the body of 

§ -401(1)(d) as “within this state.”

Lapointe argues that, “[f]or stacking purposes under § 61-8-734, MCA . . . 

this Court should only recognize the law of states that limit the applicability of 

their alcohol based DUI laws to ways of the state open to the public, or equivalent 

language.” (Appellant’s Br. at 21.) Lapointe’s argument overlooks that in 2019, 

and for decades beforehand, only one of the four types of DUI defined under Mont. 

Code Ann. § 61-8-401(1)—the alcohol-only DUI under subsection (a)—defined 
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the “place of offense” as “upon the ways of this state open to the public.” Like 

California’s use of the phrase “upon the highways and elsewhere throughout the 

[s]tate,” the three other types of DUI under Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-401(1)(b), (c),

and (d) define the “place of offense” as “within this state,” more precisely defined 

at Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-101(2)(b) as “anywhere within this state.” (Emphasis 

added.) 

Notably, the Montana Legislature at Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-734(1)(b) 

(2019) expressly included all DUI convictions under § -401—regardless of the 

subsection and associated “place of offense”—for purposes of stacking under 

§ -734(1)(a). This is prima facie evidence that the Montana Legislature considers 

all of the DUIs under § -401(1) to be similar.

C. This Court has excluded from stacking those out-of-state 
convictions for DUI offenses where a person can be 
convicted on a standard based on lesser culpability, whereas 
a person in California can be convicted on a standard based 
on greater culpability.

Lapointe argues that the prior decisions of this Court addressing whether 

another state’s DUI law is similar to Montana’s DUI law for purposes of sentence 

enhancement under Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-734, “are not determinative of the 

issue” in this case because those “cases all focus on another legal issue: whether 

the DUI statutes of the various states require lesser proof of impairment than the 

Montana statute.” (Appellant’s Br. at 9-10.) However, the concern the Court 
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expressed when comparing impairment levels is equally applicable to other 

elements. For example, in Polaski, ¶ 22, the Court held “that if another state’s law 

allows a person to be convicted using a lesser standard than would be required in 

Montana for a conviction, the statutes are not similar for purposes of § 61-8-

734(1)(a), MCA.”

The Court in Polaski compared the Montana DUI statute’s use of the word 

“diminished” with the California DUI statute’s use of the phrase “impaired to an 

appreciable degree,” and concluded that California’s standard was “not a lesser 

standard but rather would be a standard equal to or greater than” Montana’s 

standard. Id. (emphasis in original). As such, the Court held that “California’s and 

Montana’s [DUI] statutes are sufficiently similar for purposes of § 61-8-734(1)(a), 

MCA (2001).” Id. Important to the instant case, the Court explained that “[a]s a 

result of a similar standard in both California and Montana, Polaski could have 

been convicted in Montana in 1996, 1997 and 2001, for the same conduct for 

which he was convicted in California.” Id.

By focusing on impairment, Lapointe misses the broader issue of the 

standard of culpability when applied to the “place of offense” issue. Because 

California law allows for all DUIs to take place on the highways and elsewhere 

throughout the state, and Montana law limits alcohol-only DUIs to ways of the 

state open to the public, California’s standard of culpability as to the “place of 
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offense” is greater than Montana’s standard. Thus, there is no concern in the 

instant case that the district court relied upon out-of-state convictions that were 

based on statutes providing for lesser culpability than Montana’s statutes.

Importantly, drivers in both Montana and California can be convicted of a 

DUI if the offense occurs on a public roadway. California’s standard is equal to or 

greater than Montana’s standard. Even if this Court disagrees, Lapointe still cannot 

prevail.

III. The presumption of regularity that attaches to prior convictions is 
not overcome when another state’s DUI statute has elements 
different from Montana’s. Once the State provides sufficient 
proof of a conviction from another state, the burden shifts to the 
defendant to present evidence of irregularity.

Even if the Court were to agree with Lapointe’s argument that the California 

and Montana alcohol-only DUI statutes are “dissimilar,” the lack of similarity does 

not automatically overcome the “presumption of regularity” that attaches to a prior 

conviction. This Court has held that a “defendant who seeks to challenge the use of 

a prior conviction for sentence enhancement must overcome a ‘presumption of 

regularity’ that attaches to prior convictions.” Sirles, ¶ 25 (citation omitted).

In State v. Holder, 2020 MT 61, ¶ 10, 399 Mont. 214, 459 P.3d 1282, the 

Court held that once the State provides competent proof of a prior conviction, “a 

‘presumption of regularity’ attaches to such conviction.” (Citations omitted.) “To
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overcome the presumption, the defendant must provide ‘direct evidence of 

irregularity.’” Id. (citation omitted). Holder appealed the district court’s denial of 

his motion to strike a prior DUI conviction that enhanced his DUI charge to felony 

level. The Court stated that Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-731(1) provides that an 

“individual convicted of DUI who also has three or more prior DUI or DUI-

equivalent convictions is guilty of a felony.” Id. For a prior conviction to be used 

“for purposes of enhancing a DUI to a felony, the State must provide ‘competent 

proof that the defendant in fact suffered a prior conviction.’” Id. (citation omitted).

The Court concluded that the State had provided sufficient proof of Holder’s 

out-of-state conviction by providing his NCIC criminal record, which contained 

the disposition of the out-of-state offense as “convicted.” Id. ¶ 12. Because the 

State provided sufficient proof of the conviction, the presumption of regularity 

attached, and the conviction was “presumed to be valid absent evidence to the 

contrary” and “deemed to be sufficient for purposes of enhancing the current DUI 

charge.” Id. ¶ 13 (citation omitted).

The Court in Holder explained that once the State meets its burden to 

provide competent proof of the existence of an out-of-state conviction, the burden 

shifts, and “the defendant must provide direct evidence of irregularity to overcome 

the presumably valid conviction.” Id. (citation omitted). Because Holder presented 

the district court with no evidence to indicate his out-of-state conviction was 
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irregular, this Court concluded that the district court did not err by relying on the 

prior out-of-state conviction for purposes of enhancing Holder’s penalty. Id.

Like in Holder, the West Virginia Supreme Court in State v. Williams, 

490 S.E.2d 285 (1997), addressed the issue of enhancing a DUI sentence by 

including a prior out-of-state conviction. Williams argued the sentence 

enhancement for his DUI in West Virgina could not “be based on his prior 

conviction in Virginia because the Virginia statute makes it unlawful ‘to drive or 

operate any motor vehicle . . . while such person is under the influence of 

alcohol[,]’” whereas West Virginia’s statute applied only to driving—not to 

operating—a vehicle under the influence. Williams, 490 S.E.2d at 288 (emphasis in 

original). He argued that “the elements are too dissimilar to allow for enhancement 

without the State showing of the facts of his Virginia conviction.” Id. The West 

Virginia DUI sentence enhancement statute, W. Va. Code § 17C-5-2(n), even 

narrower than Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-734, permits the use of any out-of-state 

conviction for the offense of DUI provided the other state’s statute “has the same

elements as an offense” under West Virginia’s DUI statutes. (Emphasis added.)

The court rejected Williams’ argument, holding that the other state’s “mere 

use of the term ‘operate’ in its [DUI] statute is insufficient to find that ‘same 

elements’ are not required in Virginia.” Williams, 490 S.E.2d at 289. “Proof that a 

defendant has been convicted of the offense of [DUI] in another state is similar to 
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proof of any other material fact in a criminal prosecution; once the State has 

introduced sufficient evidence to lead impartial minds to conclude that the 

defendant had once before been convicted of [DUI], the State has made a prima 

facie case.” Id. at 288. The court continued, stating that “[n]otwithstanding the fact 

that another state’s [DUI] statute may contain additional elements not found in 

[West Virginia’s DUI statute], an out-of-state conviction may properly be used for 

sentence enhancement . . . provided that the factual predicate upon which the 

conviction was obtained would have supported a conviction under the West 

Virginia DUI statute.” Id. (emphasis added).

In another case very similar to Lapointe’s, the Nebraska Supreme Court 

grappled with the issue of sentence enhancement given the differences between the 

DUI statutes of Nebraska and California. State v. Garcia, 792 N.W.2d 882 (2011).

It held that Nebraska did not have “the initial burden of showing a substantial 

similarity of every element of the respective DUI laws or that the facts surrounding 

the prior conviction would have resulted in a violation of Nebraska DUI laws as 

they existed at that time.” Id. at 889. Garcia argued that because the “place of 

offense” for DUIs in California applied to any property, whereas Nebraska’s 

“place of offense” applied only to highways or private property that “is open to 

public access,” the laws of the two states did not have the same scope of 

application, and therefore the prosecution had the burden to show what “place of 
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offense” was involved in his California convictions and prove it would have been a 

violation under Nebraska law. Id. at 888.

The court in Garcia held that “[t]he fact that another state’s DUI laws apply 

more broadly to ‘all property’ does not mean that it is the State’s burden of 

production to come forward with evidence showing the exact location of the 

defendant’s prior DUI—because of the theoretical possibility that it was committed 

on a kind of property to which Nebraska DUI laws would not apply.” Id. at 890. 

The court pointed out that the issue of “whether Garcia was on a public highway or 

on private property with ‘public access’ is not likely to be reflected anywhere in 

the record of the prior California convictions, even assuming there were any 

obtainable records not already presented.” Id. at 891.

The Nebraska Supreme Court pointedly stated:

Garcia, on the other hand, can easily attest to where he was 

operating his vehicle in connection with the prior California DUI 

convictions. Even in a criminal prosecution, we have said that “‘if a 

negative is an essential element of the crime, and is ‘peculiarly within 

the knowledge of the defendant,’ it devolves upon him to produce the 

evidence, and upon his failure to do so, the jury may properly infer 

that such evidence cannot be produced.’” This policy is even more 

apparent when the fact in question pertains not to an element of a 

criminal offense, but goes to punishment only. The fact that the 

defendant has previously been convicted of DUI is irrelevant to guilt 

or innocence and is relevant only to the sentence to be meted out.

Id. (citations omitted).
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From a policy perspective, the Nebraska Supreme Court further opined, “All 

states prohibit driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. But subtle variations 

on that general theme are as numerous as the states themselves. It was not our 

Legislature’s intent to prohibit the consideration of prior out-of-state DUI 

convictions simply because differing elements of the offense . . . make it 

merely possible that the defendant’s behavior would not have resulted in a 

violation of [Nebraska’s DUI law] had it occurred here.” Id. at 890 (emphasis in 

original). To prohibit use of out-of-state convictions on such grounds “would also 

be contrary to the legislature’s intent to increase the severity of sentences for 

recidivistic drunk driving.” Id. 

The approach taken by Nebraska and West Virginia regarding sentencing 

enhancement procedures—the prosecution’s prima facie establishment of prior 

convictions and the burden then shifting to the defendant to challenge those 

convictions—has been upheld by the United States Supreme Court. See Parke v. 

Raley, 506 U.S. 20 (1992). The court in Parke held that “deeply rooted in our 

jurisprudence” is “the ‘presumption of regularity’ that attaches to final judgments, 

even when the question is waiver of constitutional rights.” Id. at 29. The Court 

pointed out that “[f]or much of our history, it appears that state courts altogether 

prohibited defendants in recidivism proceedings from challenging prior 

convictions as erroneous.” Id. at 32. Further, “[i]n recent years state courts have 
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permitted various challenges to prior convictions and have allocated proof burdens 

differently.” Id. The court concluded that “[i]n light of the relative positions of the 

defendant and the prosecution in recidivism proceedings, we cannot say that it is 

fundamentally unfair to place at least a burden of production on the defendant.” Id. 

The court held that the “range of contemporary state practice certainly does not 

suggest that allocating some burden to the defendant is fundamentally unfair.” 

Id. at 33.

This Court should adopt the rationale of West Virginia, Nebraska, and other 

states as discussed and upheld in Parke, and hold that when a defendant challenges 

an out-of-state conviction by claiming that an element of the out-of-state DUI 

offense is dissimilar to a Montana element, once the State has established the 

existence of the out-of-state conviction, the burden shifts to the defendant, who 

must produce reliable evidence that the facts in the out-of-state case would not 

have resulted in a conviction in Montana. In Lapointe’s case, he would have to 

provide sufficient evidence that his six DUI convictions in California were for 

offenses that occurred exclusively on private property—i.e., some place other than 

the ways of the state open to the public.

Absent a burden-shifting process as described in Williams and Garcia, the 

DUI convictions from the majority of states would not count for enhancement 

purposes under Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-734 based on how those states address the 
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element of location in their DUI statutes. More than 20 states, either in the body of 

their DUI statutes or in separate applicability statutes like Cal. Veh. Code § 23100, 

define the “place of offense” using the same,4 or virtually the same,5 wording as 

California: “elsewhere throughout the [s]tate.” 

While another ten states have statutes that are silent on the “place of 

offense” element, i.e., have no applicability-type statutes and the bodies of their 

DUI statutes do not specify a “place of offense,” the courts of those states 

uniformly have held that the lack of a specific “place of offense” means the offense 

can occur anywhere including private property. See Caulkins v. Dept. of Pub. 

                                        
4 These states currently use the wording “on (or upon) the (streets and) 

highways and elsewhere throughout the (this) state” as the “place of offense” for 

DUIs: Alabama (Code of Ala. § 32-5A-2); Colorado (C.R.S. § 42-4-103); 

Delaware (21 Del. C. § 4101(a)(2)); Georgia (Ga. Code Ann. § 40-6-3(a)(3)); 

Illinois (625 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/11-201(2)); and Wyoming (Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 31-5-

103(a)(ii)).

5 The following states use the phrase “within (or in) this state,” “anywhere in 

this (or the) state,” or “throughout this state” to define the “place of offense”:

Arizona (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 28-1381(A)); District of Columbia (D.C. Code §§ 50-

2206.11, 50-2206.14); Florida (Fla. Stat. § 316.193(1)); Iowa (Iowa Code 

§ 321J.2(1)); Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. § 8-1501(b)); Kentucky (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 189A.010(1)); Maryland (Md. Code Ann., Transp. § 21-901); Minnesota (Minn. 

Stat. § 169A.20, subd. 1); Mississippi (Miss. Code Ann. § 63-11-30(1)); New 

Hampshire (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. 265-A:2(I)); New Mexico (N.M. Stat. Ann. § 66-

8-102(A)); Ohio (Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 4511.19(A)(1)); Rhode Island (R.I. Gen. 

Laws § 31-27-2(a)); South Carolina (S.C. Code Ann. § 56-5-2930(A)); Utah (Utah 

Code Ann. § 41-6a-502(1)); and Washington (Rev. Code Wash. § 46.61.502(1)).
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Safety, Div. of Motor Vehicles, 743 P.2d 366, 368 (Alaska 1987) (“[I]t has been 

unlawful for an intoxicated person to operate a motor vehicle in any area of this 

state, whether the area is publicly or privately owned.”); Sanders v. State, 846 

S.W.2d 651 (Ark. 1993) (statute contains no location or geographic element, one 

can be convicted for DUI on private property); Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-227a (2006) 

(History Notes: Session Law P.A. 06-147, “amended Subsec. (a) to delete 

requirement that the motor vehicle be operated on public highway of state or on 

road of specified district organized under the provisions of chapter 105 or on 

private road on which a speed limit has been established pursuant to Sec. 14-218a 

or in parking area for ten or more cars or on school property”); State v. Watson, 

787 P.2d 691, 692 (Haw. 1990) (“We see nothing in [DUI statute] which requires 

that the operation of a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor be 

done on a public highway.”); People v. Clark, 362 N.E.2d 407, 409 (Ill. App. Ct.

1977) (“[A] violation of [the DUI statute] can occur on private as well as public 

property.”); State v. Nobles, 179 A.3d 910, 919 (Me. 2018) (“[T]he crime of [DUI]

does not require operation on a public way.”); Bertram v. Dir. of Revenue, 930 

S.W.2d 7, 9 (Mo. Ct. App. 1996) (“Neither § 577.010 (driving while intoxicated) 

nor § 577.012 (driving with excessive blood alcohol content) mention anything 

about public highways . . . . It is not necessary to allege or prove that the vehicle 

was operated on a public road or highway.”); State v. Magner, 376 A.2d 1333, 
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1334 (N.J. Super. Ct. 1977) (“Although many amendments [to the DUI statute] 

have appeared since 1921, none has undertaken to restore to the offense the phrase 

respecting public ways . . . . [T]he general rule that if a motor vehicle statute makes 

no references to offenses occurring on a public highway, it is usually held that the 

statute applies generally throughout the State.”); Sarafin v. Commonwealth, 

764 S.E.2d 71, 76 (Va. 2014) (“[W]e hold that [DUI statute] contains no ‘on a 

highway’ requirement for the operation of motor vehicles . . . . [W]e are bound by 

the plain meaning of the statute, which compels our conclusion that [the DUI 

statute] contains no ‘private way’ exception for the operation of motor vehicles.”).

Only 15 states use wording like Montana’s alcohol-only DUI “place of 

offense” upon the ways of this state open to the public in the body of their DUI 

statutes and/or applicability statutes.6 If, as Lapointe argues, an out-of-state 

conviction for an alcohol-only DUI must take place “upon the ways of this state 

open to the public” to count as a conviction under § -734, then the convictions 

from only these 15 states might count.

                                        
6 Idaho Code §§ 49-117(18), 18-8004(1)(a); A.L.Mass. GL ch. 90, § 24 

(1)(a)(1); Mich.CLS § 257.625(1); R.R.S. Neb. § 60-6,108(1); Nev. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. §§ 484C.110(1)-(4), 484A.185(1)-(3); N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 1192(7);
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-138.1(a); N.D. Cent. Code § 39-08-01(1); Okla. Stat. Tit. 47, 
§ 11-902; 75 Pa. Cons. Stat. §§ 3101, 3102; S.D. Codified Laws §§ 32-14-1, 32-
14-2; Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-10-401; Tex. Penal Code §§ 1.07(a)(40), § 49-04(a);
Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 23, §§ 1200-1201; and Wis. Stat. § 346.61.
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To “only recognize the law of states that limit the applicability of their 

alcohol-based DUI laws to ways of the state open to the public, or equivalent 

language[,]” as Lapointe urges this Court to do (Appellant’s Br. at 21), simply 

because it is merely possible that the defendant’s behavior would not have resulted 

in a violation of Montana law had the offense occurred here, would defeat the 

intent of the Legislature to reduce recidivism for DUIs. 

Two years before Montana first enacted its felony DUI law, the Legislature 

expressed its concerns regarding repeat DUI offenders in the preamble to 1997 

Session Laws, ch. 107, which was enacted to authorize Montana courts to require 

ignition interlock devices in DUI cases:

WHEREAS, since the early 1980s, strict laws and extensive 

public awareness campaigns have helped reduce the traffic death toll 

attributed to drunken driving; and

WHEREAS, despite the progress that has been made in the 

battle against drunken driving, there remain on Montana’s roads and 

highways a small group of hard-core drinkers who regularly drink to 

high levels of intoxication (over 0.15%) and still drive; and

WHEREAS, on a weekend night, these hard-core drunk drivers 

make up only 1% of all drivers, yet account for almost half of the 

driving fatalities; and

WHEREAS, approximately 80% of all drunk drivers killed on 

the nation’s highways in 1995 had a blood alcohol concentration of 

0.15% or higher, and to get to that level, a 160-pound man would have 

to consume more than six drinks in 1 hour; and
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WHEREAS, approximately 50% of all fatally injured drunk 

drivers in 1995 had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.20% or higher, 

more than twice the legal limit in Montana; and

. . . .

WHEREAS, reduction of repeat DUI offenses will, over time, 

reduce one of the growing pressures for increased incarceration 

expenses impacting our local and state corrections systems; and

. . . .

WHEREAS, the incidence of recidivism is lower among 

offenders with ignition interlock devices in their vehicles; and

. . . .

WHEREAS, the use of ignition interlock devices is legal in 
Montana, but the devices are not currently available throughout the 
state nor will they be consistently used in the state until installation of 
these devices is required by Montana courts responsible for 
sentencing DUI offenders.

1997 Mont. Laws, ch. 107.

Yet despite the Legislature’s efforts to reduce the number of DUI offenses in 

Montana in the intervening 30 years since 1997 Session Laws, ch. 107, was 

enacted, as of January 3, 2025, when Forbes Advisor published the results of its 

study of all 50 states, Montana ranked #1 as the worst state for drunk driving.7

Adopting Lapointe’s reasoning would only make it more difficult for Montana to 

make its roadways safer.

                                        
7 Source: https://www.forbes.com/advisor/car-insurance/worst-states-for-

drunk-driving/ [continued on page 31]
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CONCLUSION

The district court did not err when it denied Lapointe’s motion to dismiss the 

felony enhancement of his DUI charge. To enhance a sentence under Mont. Code 

Ann. § 61-8-734, a prior conviction for an out-of-state DUI offense need only be 

pursuant to a statute similar to Montana’s DUI statute, and is not required to be 

identical or equivalent. California’s DUI statute is similar to Montana’s DUI 

statute, even though Montana requires that alcohol-only DUIs must occur on the 

ways of this state open to the public. California also prohibits DUIs on public 

roadways. The district court correctly determined that Lapointe’s six prior 

convictions for the offense of DUI in California counted to enhance the sentence 

for DUI in Montana to which Lapointe pled guilty.

                                        
[continued from page 30]

Top 10 Worst States For Drunk Driving
1. Montana
Montana’s score: 100 out of 100
 Montana ranks as the worst state for drunk driving, with 8.57 drunk 

drivers involved in fatal crashes for every 100,000 licensed drivers, 
and 7.14 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver for every 
100,000 state residents. Both rates are the highest in the nation.

 More than two-fifths (43.51%) of traffic deaths in Montana are 
caused by drunk drivers, the highest in the nation.

 Underage drinkers are also at high risk in Montana. The state has the 
worst rate of drunk drivers under age 21 involved in fatal crashes 
(1.17 per 100,000 licensed drivers).

 Big Sky Country has the 11th highest number of DUI arrests per 
100,000 licensed drivers (450.50).
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