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FILED

09/22/2021

Bowen Greenwood

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF MONTANA

Case Number: AF 06-0163

Please provide the total cost to practice in your state. Include all MANDATORY FEES to practice. Please report the fee levels separately in each applicable category. If the breakdown is unknown please
report the cost to members in your state in the first category below. If a fee is payable over a number of years, please report the figure per year. The total box should equal the total cost to practice in

your state.

$___Total fees if not broken down by category (some mandatory state bars may refer to these

mandatory fees as dues)
S___ Client security fee

$___Occupational tax
$___Mandatory CLE fee

S___ Attorney assistance program
S

$

S___ Licensing/registration fee ___Legal services/legal aid
$___ Discipline ____Mandatory professional liability insurance
S___Professional responsibility fee
S__ Building fund
TOTAL FEES IF
TOTALcOST | NOTBROKEN Lic./ PROF. ATTY. MAND.
TO PRACTICE DOWN BY REG. RESP. | BLDG. OCC. | MAND. | ASST. | LEGAL PROF.
STATE IN STATE CATEGORY?> CSF FEE DISC. FEE FUND TAX CLE FEE PROG. SERV. LIAB. INS. OTHER
Alabama3 $350 $25 $325
Alaska $660 $10 $650
Arizona $505 $485 $20
Arkansas $200 $200
California® $506 $40 $438 $25 $10 $40
Colorado $325 $325
Connecticut $640 $75 $565
Delaware $155 $45 $10 $50 $5 $45

1 Total cost to practice in each state includes all the mandatory dues and fees required for an attorney to practice law in that state. In mandatory states, the attorney must belong to the bar to practice
law in that state. Voluntary state bars collect dues only — this dues amount is not included in the total cost to practice in voluntary states as it is not mandatory. We have included the mandatory fees

that attorneys must pay to the licensing agencies in those states. If a member is able to opt-out of a fee, that fee is not included in the total cost to practice figure.

2 Some state bars collect one dues amount from members and allocate those dollars among expenses (discipline, client security fund, etc.) as necessary. Others collect specific fees for various
activities. Therefore, some bars may not list a dues level, but list specific amounts of fees collected.
3 Alabama - The Alabama State Bar, through licensing fees, performs/administers all regulatory functions of the state bar.
4 California — The $40 legal services fee is legislatively mandated, but members may opt out (not included in total cost to practice figure in chart). The $438 in licensing fees includes $2 for Elimination
of Bias programs and $5 for legislative activity, both of which may be deducted via an opt-out (also not included in total cost to practice figure).



TOTAL FEES IF

TOTALCOST | NOTBROKEN Lic./ PROF. ATTY. MAND.

TO PRACTICE DOWN BY REG. RESP. | BLDG. OCC. | MAND. | ASST. | LEGAL PROF.
STATE IN STATE CATEGORY’ CSF FEE DISC. FEE FUND TAX CLE FEE PROG. SERV. LIAB. INS. OTHER
District of Columbia $322 $322
Florida $265 $265
Georgia $290 $254 $25 $116
Hawaii’ $559 $210 S50 $250 $34 $158
Idaho $425 $425
lllinois $385 $25 $230 $25 $10 $95
Indiana $160 $145 $159
lowa $260 S50 $200 $10
Kansas $175 $175
Kentucky $310 $218 S7 $20 $48 $15 S2
Louisiana $435 $200 $235
Maine $265 $20 $225 $20
Maryland $130 $130
Massachusetts $300 $300 $5110
Michigan! $315 $180 $15 $120
Minnesota $317 $317
Mississippi $335 $335
Missouri $410 $259 $101 $50
Montana $495 $300 $20 $25 $125 $25
Nebraska?? $98 $25 S60 $1313
Nevada $490 $450 $40
New Hampshirel4 $545 $310 $205 $10 $20

5 Some state bars collect one dues amount from members and allocate those dollars among expenses (discipline, client security fund, etc.) as necessary. Others collect specific fees for various
activities. Therefore, some bars may not list a dues level, but list specific amounts of fees collected.

% Georgia — Professionalism and CLE fee. Client security fund and bar facility fees are collected from new attorneys only for their first four years of practice.

7 Hawaii — Members with less than 5 years of practice, members over age 70, judicial members, and govt. attorneys pay a lesser amount.

8 Hawaii - $15 processing fee.

9 Indiana - $15 for technology fund.

10 Massachusetts $51 for Access to Justice fee is voluntary and not included in total cost to practice figure.

11 Michigan - These amounts are in effect for the bar year beginning October 1, 2019 through September 30, 2020.

12 Nebraska — A Nebraska Supreme Court ruling in December 2013 mandated that dues (referred to as “mandatory membership assessment”) be reduced to a level only covering regulatory aspects of
bar operations. Mandatory assessment is $98; voluntary bar dues are additional $240.

13 Nebraska - $13 for UPL.

14 New Hampshire — Did not respond in 2019 or 2020; figures are from 2018 State and Local Bar Benchmarks Survey.



TOTAL FEES IF

TOTALCOST | NOTBROKEN Lic./ PROF. ATTY. MAND.

TO PRACTICE DOWN BY REG. RESP. | BLDG. OCC. | MAND. | ASST. | LEGAL PROF.
STATE IN STATE CATEGORY?®® CSF FEE DISC. FEE FUND TAX CLE FEE PROG. SERV. LIAB. INS. OTHER
New Jersey $252 $25216
New Mexico?? $420 S15 $255 $150
New York!8 $188 418819
North Carolina $411 $300 $25 $5020 $36
North Dakota?! $380 $228 $16 $75 $6122
Ohio2z $175 $175
Oklahoma?4 $27525 $275
Oregon $687 $592 S50 $3,30026 $4527
Pennsylvania $225 $75 $120 $30%8
Rhode Island $400 $225 $25 $150%°
South Carolina $375 $30 $275 $70
South Dakota $415 $315 $10030
Tennessee $565 $10 $135 $400 $20
Texas $300 $235 $65
Utah $445 $425 $203!

15 Some state bars collect one dues amount from members and allocate those dollars among expenses (discipline, client security fund, etc.) as necessary. Others collect specific fees for various
activities. Therefore, some bars may not list a dues level, but list specific amounts of fees collected.

16 New Jersey — All of the various fees (client security, attorney assistance, discipline and CLE board fee) are included in the licensing/registration fee.

17 New Mexico — In the process of combining licensing and certification deadlines with MCLE deadlines to create a single compliance reporting period now that MCLE regulation is under the State Bar.
18 New York — Did not respond in 2019 or 2020; figures are from 2018 State and Local Bar Benchmarks Survey.

19 New York — All of the various fees (client security, attorney assistance, discipline and CLE board fee) are included in the licensing/registration fee.

20 North Carolina - The "occupational tax" is for a privilege (to do business) license and is paid to the State of NC.

21 North Dakota - $380 is collected each year by the Board of Law Examiners. $75 is allocated to discipline. 20% of the balance is retained by the Board of Law Examiners, $244 comes to the bar, $16 of
which is dedicated to the Client Security Fund. The remaining $228 goes to bar general fund.

22 North Dakota - $61 for Board of Law Examiners.

23 Ohio - $350 paid every two years.

24 Oklahoma — Did not respond in 2019 or 2020; figures are from 2018 State and Local Bar Benchmarks Survey.

25 Oklahoma — Provides client security funding and does discipline all out of general budget dollars as part of the $275.

26 Oregon — The OSB Professional Liability Fund (PLF) is a mandatory assessment for all private practice attorneys in Oregon (not included in total cost to practice figure in chart).

27 Oregon - $45 diversity and inclusion assessment.

28 pennsylvania - $30 - IOLTA

29 Rhode Island - $150 licensing/registration fee also funds the discipline system; not billed by bar.

30 South Dakota — non-mandatory CLE

31 Utah — Client security fund can vary from year to year, but will not exceed $20.



TOTAL FEES IF
TOTALCOST | NOTBROKEN Lc./ PROF. ATTY. MAND.
TO PRACTICE DOWN BY REG. RESP. | BLDG. occ. MAND. | ASST. | LEGAL PROF.
STATE IN STATE CATEGORY?? CSF FEE DISC. FEE FUND TAX CLEFEE | PROG. | SERV. | LIAB.INS. | OTHER
Vermont $425 $425
Virginia $290 $250 $10 $30%
Washington34 $488 $30 $458
West Virginia $250 $250
Wisconsin3® $491 $260 $20 $150 $11 S50
Wyoming $355 $350 S5

32 Some state bars collect one dues amount from members and allocate those dollars among expenses (discipline, client security fund, etc.) as necessary. Others collect specific fees for various
activities. Therefore, some bars may not list a dues level, but list specific amounts of fees collected.

33 Virginia - The Supreme Court of Virginia initiated an Attorney Wellness Fund Fee of $30 effective with the 7/1/2019 dues cycle, which we collect.

34 Washington - There is an Emeritus/Inactive fee ($200), Active Newly Admitted (1-2 years - $226.50; 1/2 active fee + $30 client security fund fee), and Judicial (550). WSBA assesses a 30% late fee if
paid after February 1. LLLTs pay $200 + $30 client security fund assessment in first 1-2 years = $100 + $30 client security fund. LPOs pay $200, in first 1-2 years = $100; no assessment. Inactive LLLTs
and LPOs both pay $100, no assessment.

35 Wisconsin - $11 fee paid to WI Board of Bar Examiners; $150 fee paid to WI Office of Lawyer Regulation; $50 fee paid to WI Trust Account Foundation.



