
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

No. AF 11-0244 

IN RE RULES FOR ADMISSION TO BAR OF MONTANA

PETITION OF PAUL F. KIRGIS, ON BEHALF OF THE FACULTY OF
THE BLEWETT SCHOOL OF LAW AT THE UNIVERSITY OF
MONTANA, FOR AMENDMENT OF RULES FOR ADMISSION
REGARDING LAW SCHOOL FACULTY

PETITION

Comes now Paul F. Kirgis, Dean of the Alexander Blewett III School of Law at
the University of Montana, and respectfully petitions this Court for an amendment of the
Rules for Admission to the Bar of Montana to facilitate the admission of law faculty.

I. BACKGROUND ON LAW FACULTY BAR ADMISSION

Under the current Rules for Admission to the Bar of Montana, faculty members at
Montana's law school, the Blewett School of Law at the University of Montana, must
either take the Montana Bar Exam or, if licensed in another state and meeting other
requirements, seek admission on motion. Those two mechanisms for admission present
significant obstacles, in terms of time and money, respectively. It has been the practice to
allow faculty members to seek admission on motion on an ad hoc basis, and several
faculty members who teach in law school clinics have availed themselves of that option.
But that process has never been formalized. Because of these barriers to admission, both
real and perceived, a about a quarter of the School of Law's faculty members are not
admitted to practice in Montana.

We believe that both the law school and the legal community in Montana would
benefit from bringing the law school faculty into the Bar. The School of Law's mission
includes an obligation to serve as the academic legal center for the State of Montana. Law
faculty are frequently called upon to serve on commissions and committees, provide
continuing legal education, and engage in other ways with the Bar membership. Faculty
members who are members of the Bar are likely to be more engaged in those activities
and better attuned to the issues facing Montana's legal community.

Further, faculty members can play an important role in promoting access to
justice through pro bono work. This year, the School of Law has adopted a new Pro Bono
Policy designed to increase involvement in pro bono work by both students and faculty.
By taking on pro bono matters, faculty members not only contribute directly to the
provision of legal services to those in need, they also serve as mentors and role models
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for the students who will become leaders in the State's legal community. Faculty who are
not licensed in Montana are prevented from performing that function.

Recognizing the value of Bar membership for law school faculty, many states
have adopted formal processes for the admission of faculty members. Several states in
our region, including Colorado, South Dakota, and Oregon, have taken that approach.
Their rules on law professor admissions are attached to this petition for reference. They
all follow basically the same process. In a nutshell, they allow full-time faculty members
who are members in good standing of another state bar to seek admission on motion
based on certain certifications. In all cases, members admitted under these provisions are
granted full rights of bar membership, but only for as long as they remain full-time
faculty members. In Oregon and South Dakota, the fees are the same as for other
attorneys admitted on motion ($1050 for Oregon and $450 for South Dakota); in
Colorado, the fee for faculty members is reduced ($500 rather than the $1800 normally
required for admission on motion).

II. PROPOSED RULE AMENDMENT

This petition respectfully requests that the Montana Supreme Court consider an
amendment to the Rules for Admission to the Bar of Montana to facilitate the admission
of Montana's law faculty. The Rules already include a mechanism that could be modified

to cover law school faculty members, through the admission on motion process.
Admission on motion is a relatively straightforward method that law faculty members
could use. But the $2,500 fee renders Admission on motion impractical. Rule I(G)(5)(b)
addresses the monetary deterrent for certain attorneys by waiving the fee for those
employed by an "Access to Justice Organization," defined as a "Montana non-profit

entity whose purpose is to support activities and programs that promote access to the

Montana civil justice system." See M.R. Civ. P. 23(2).

Rule I(G)(5)(b) could be amended to add Montana's law faculty as a second

category of attorneys eligible for the fee waiver. Such an amendment might take the
following form:

(b) The Montana attorney application fee must be waived for an applicant for

admission on motion who:

.ifi is employed by or has secured employment with an Access to Justice
Organization as defined in M. R. Civ. P. 23(i);

(ii) is employed full-time or has secured full-time employment as a dean 

or teacher of law at a law school located in Montana and approved by the 

Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admission to the Bar of the 

American Bar Association; or 

(iii) is seeking admission to emeritus status.

The applicant must, however, pay the State Bar fees for new admittees and fees

and assessments for the Montana Law Seminar registration, the Office of

Disciplinary Counsel, Lawyers' Fund, and annual attorney license, as provided in

(a). If the admitted applicant ceases to be employed by the qualifying employer,

no longer holds full-time status as a dean or teacher of law at the Montana law 

school, or transfers from emeritus to active status within two years of the fee
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waiver, the admitted applicant shall notify the Bar Admissions Administrator and
must either pay the waived fees or relinquish admission to the State Bar of
Montana. An applicant admitted under Rule I(G)(5)(b)(ii) may not represent 
clients for personal remuneration: a law faculty member who seeks to represent 
clients for personal remuneration must first pay the waived fees.

An amendment along those lines would put law faculty in the same position as attorneys
who practice for other non-profit legal organizations, including the requirements for
character and fitness review and the payment of bar dues and other fees. It would also be

consistent with the ad hoc method of admission used by certain faculty members in the

past. And the limitation on practice for remuneration would ensure that the amendment

does not create any inequities within the Bar.

III. PRACTICAL CONSIDERATIONS

One concern that has been expressed about this proposal involves the logistics of

monitoring law faculty activities to ensure faculty members admitted under this rule

comply with its terms. Our faculty policies ensure that faculty members remain fully

engaged in the work of the law school and report any outside consulting activities. These

policies appear in the ABA Standards for Approval of Law Schools, our Law Faculty

Handbook, and the University's Faculty Consulting Policy.

ABA Standard 402 requires us to carry out our program of legal instruction using

"full-time faculty." Interpretation 402-2, provides that "Negularly engaging in law

practice or having an ongoing relationship with a law firm or other business creates a

presumption that a faculty member is not a full-time faculty member under this standard.

This presumption may be rebutted if the law school is able to demonstrate that the

individual has a full-time commitment to teaching, research, and public service, is

available to students, and is able to participate in the governance of the law school to the

same extent expected of full-time faculty." Thus, under the ABA Standards, our faculty

must devote substantially all their working time to law school activities.

We ensure compliance with that standard through our Faculty Workload Policy,

contained in Chapter 16 of our Faculty Handbook. That policy requires faculty to amass a

minimum of 20 "workload credits" through teaching and instruction in the School of

Law, scholarship, Direct Professional Public Service, Law School Service, and

administration. With each workload credit defined to equate to 75 hours, our faculty are

obligated to devote substantially all their working time to law school activities. Faculty

are obligated to submit detailed workload reports each year demonstrating their

compliance with that policy. In practice, all full-time faculty exceed the minimum

standard. Only a small number of faculty engage in any paid consulting or private

practice, and the hours spent are minimal.

Finally, University policy bolsters the School of Law's workload policy by

regulating faculty consulting, defined as "professional activity related to the faculty

member's field or discipline, where a fee-for-service or equivalent relationship with a

third party exists." Faculty Consulting Policy 101.5 allows faculty members to engage in

consulting activity, but only if "the faculty member's primary obligations to the

University are met first." We understand that to mean that faculty must meet their

workload obligations under our Faculty Handbook. Further, Policy 101.5 requires faculty
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members to disclose any consulting prior to engaging in it, so that we can track any

consulting and ensure it does not interfere with the faculty member's law school

responsibilities.

Given the policies and reporting requirements outlined above, we are confident

that ensuring compliance with the limitations in the proposed rule will be a

straightforward matter between the School of Law and the Bar.

We are grateful to the Court for its consideration of this request and welcome the

opportunity to engage more closely with the bench and bar of Montana.

Dated this day of , 20 .

(Signature)
Paul F. Kirgis

Dean & Professor of Law
Blewett School of Law
University of Montana

32 Campus Drive
Missoula, MT, 59812

(406) 243-5291
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Rule 204.5. Law Professor Certification

(1) General Statement and Eligibility. In its discretion, the Supreme Court may

certify a law professor who has been admitted to practice law in another jurisdiction in the

United States to practice law in Colorado if all of the following conditions are met:

(a) The attorney is a law school graduate who, as determined by the Attorney Regulation

Counsel, Office of Admissions, is employed full-time as a dean or teacher of law at a law school

approved by the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar of the

American Bar Association located in Colorado;

(b) The attorney is a member in good standing of the bar of all courts and jurisdictions in

which he or she is admitted to practice;

(c) The attorney is not currently subject to an order of attorney discipline or the subject

of a pending formal disciplinary or disability matter in any jurisdiction; and

(d) The attorney possesses the character and fitness required of all applicants for

admission to the practice of law in Colorado as set forth in C.R.C.P. 208.

(2) Filing Requirements. An applicant under this rule shall submit an application for

law professor certification. The applicant shall pay a fee in an amount fixed by the Supreme

Court. The fee must be paid when the application is submitted. The application and fee shall be

collected by the Office of Attorney Registration. The required application fee shall be made

payable to the Clerk of the Supreme Court. The application shall include the following:

(a) A certification of employment by the law school; and

(b) A certificate of good standing from all courts and jurisdictions in which the attomey

is admitted to practice.
(3) Scope of Authority. Except as provided in this rule, an attorney certified under this

rule shall be entitled to all rights and privileges and subject to all duties, obligations, an
d

responsibilities otherwise applicable to licensed Colorado lawyers for the period of authorize
d

practice under this rule. The attorney may not act as counsel for a client until certified under

this rule.
(4) Discipline and Disability Jurisdiction. An attorney certified under this rule is

subject to the Colorado Rules of Professional Conduct; C.R.C.P. 251.1 et seq. (Rul
es of

Procedure Regarding Attorney Discipline and Disability Proceedings); and C.R.C.P. 210

(Revocation of License). In addition to the forms of discipline contained in C.R.C.P. 251.
6, the

attorney may also be enjoined from further practice of law in Colorado.

(5) Termination of Certification. Certification under this rule shall automatically

terminate when:
(a) The attorney no longer holds full-time status as a dean or teacher of law at 

the

Colorado law school;
(b) The attorney is disciplinarily suspended or disbarred or placed on disability i

nactive

status in any jurisdiction, court, or agency before which the attorney is admitted; or

(c) The attorney is suspended in any jurisdiction for failure to pay child support or
 failure

to cooperate in a disciplinary matter.

The attorney admitted pursuant to this rule shall notify the Colorado Supreme
 Court

Office of Attorney Registration of any change of status described in this secti
on (5) within

twenty-eight days of such change.

(6) Required Action After Termination of Certification. Upon the term
ination of

certification pursuant to section (5) of this rule, the attorney, within twenty-eigh
t days, shall:



(a) Notify in writing all clients in pending matters, and co-counsel and opposing counsel
in pending litigation, of the termination of the attorney's authority to practice law pursuant to this
rule;

(b) Decline any new representation that would require the attorney to be admitted to
practice law in Colorado; and

(c) Take all other necessary steps to protect the interests of the attorney's clients.
(7) Registration, Fees, and Continuing Legal Education. An attorney certified under

this rule shall be required to pay annual registration fees and comply with all other provisions of
C.R.C.P. 227, as well as the mandatory legal education requirements of C.R.C.P. 260.

(8) Registration Number. An attorney certified under this rule shall be assigned a
registration number, which shall be used to identify that attorney's registration status in Colorado

in accordance with applicable rules of procedure.
(9) Subsequent Attorney Admission. If an attorney certified under this rule is

subsequently admitted to the practice of law in Colorado, that attorney's law professor

certification shall be superseded by the Colorado license to practice law.
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ADMISSION OF LAW TEACHERS

11.05 Admission of Law Teachers

A person who is a regular, full-time member of the faculty of any law school in
this state approved by the Court, who has graduated from a law school
approved by the American Bar Association, earning a Juris Doctor Degree, and
who has passed a bar examination substantially equivalent to the Oregon Bar
Examination and been admitted to practice law in another state, federal
territory or commonwealth or the District of Columbia, may be admitted to
practice in this state by the following procedure:

(1) After serving at least one year on the faculty of a law school in this
state approved by the Court, such person may apply for a teacher's
admission to practice by filing an application as prescribed in Rule
4.15.

(2) The applicant shall pay the fees prescribed in Rule 4.10.

(3) The applicant shall be investigated as prescribed in Rule 6.05 to 6.15.

(4) If a majority of the non-recused members of the Board considers the
applicant to be qualified as to the requisite moral character and fitness
to practice law, the Board shall recommend the applicant to the Court
for admission as a teacher-member.

(5) If the Court considers the applicant qualified for a teacher's admission,
it shall admit the applicant as a teacher-member. A teacher-member
shall have all the rights and obligations of the Bar of Oregon except
permanent admission.

(6) In order to remain a teacher-member, such person must continue as
a regular, full-time member of the faculty of a law school in this state
approved by the Court.

PAGE 31 - RULES FOR ADMISSION OF ATTORNEYS IN OREGON
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If after admission to practice in this state, the applicant engages in professional
misconduct as that term is defined by the rules governing the state bar of South Dakota, the
Supreme Court may revoke his or her admission to practice. In addition, the matter may be
referred to the disciplinary board of the state bar or other proper authority as is deemed
necessary and desirable. The county in which the legal aid bureau or public defender agency
is located shall be considered the county of the applicant's residence for the purpose of
determining venue in any disciplinary action taken against him or her.

16-16-7.5. Extent of practice—Compensation. The admission of the nonresident
attorney under §16-16-7.3 will allow the attorney to practice in the courts or administrative
agencies of this state solely in the capacity as a member of the legal aid bureau or public
defender agency by whom he or she is employed. The nonresident attorney shall not receive
compensation from the person on whose behalf he or she renders services, but this shall not
prevent the legal aid bureau or public defender agency from paying compensation to the
attorney nor shall it prevent any agency from making such charges for its services as it may
otherwise properly require.

16-16-7.6. An attorney licensed to practice law in another jurisdiction within the
United States, while actually employed by the Unified Judicial System as its state court
administrator, or while actually employed by the University of South Dakota law school as a
full-time administrator or as a full-time faculty member, may be admitted to practice in this
state upon submission of a sworn, written application to the Supreme Court of South Dakota
containing the following:

(1) The name and post office address of the applicant;

(2) The jurisdictions in which the applicant is licensed to practice law;

(3) A statement that the applicant is a member in good standing of the bar of
the jurisdictions in which he or she is licensed;

(4) A statement that the applicant has not been the subject of disciplinary
action by the bar or courts of any jurisdiction during the preceding five
years;

(5) A statement that the applicant has not been denied admission to the
courts of any jurisdiction during the preceding five years; and

(6) A statement that the applicant is familiar with the rules of the State Bar
of South Dakota and will at all times abide by and comply with the same.

Such application will be accompanied by the following:

(1) A certificate of admission to the bar in the jurisdictions in which the
applicant is licensed to practice law;

(2) A certificate from the proper courts therein that the applicant is a member
in good standing.

Effective 7/1/15
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also submit:
A full-time administrator or faculty member other than the full-time dean shall

(1) An affidavit of the dean of the law school that the applicant is a full-time
administrator or faculty member of the University of South Dakota law
school in good standing and that the dean recommends the applicant for
admission to practice.

A full-time administrator includes the dean, librarian, associate or assistant
deans, or other administrators holding academic appointment.

A full-time faculty member is one who during the academic year devotes
substantially all working time to teaching and legal scholarship, participates in law school
governance and service, and has no outside office or business activities, and whose outside
professional activities, if any, are limited to those that relate to major academic interests or
enrich the faculty member's capacity as scholar and teacher, are of service to the legal
profession and the public generally, and do not interfere with one's responsibility as a faculty
member. A full-time faculty member may hold a joint appointment with the University of
South Dakota law school and another college or school within the University of South Dakota.

16-16-7.7. Order of admission and duration. If the Supreme Court shall find
that the applicant is of good moral character and otherwise qualified to practice law, the court
may make an order of admission to be effective upon the filing of the oath of attorney in the
office of the clerk. Such admission under this section shall remain in effect until the
occurrence of the earliest of the following events:

Effective 7/1/15
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(1) The announcement by the Board of Bar Examiners of this state that such
applicant has passed such examination and the applicant's subsequent
admission to practice under §16-16-17, et seq.; or

(2) The termination of applicant's employment with the University of South
Dakota law school or a change in the status of applicant's employment
from full-time administrator or full-time faculty member to some other
status; provided however, that the membership of such member admitted
pursuant to SDCL 16-16-7.6 will not terminate when the member's
employment at the University of South Dakota School of Law terminates if
the member has served as a full-time administrator or full-time member of
that faculty and been admitted to the bar in South Dakota for a minimum
of five of the seven years immediately preceding termination of the
employment; or

(3) The termination of applicant's employment with the Unified Judicial
System or a change in status of applicant's employment from state court
administrator to some other status; or

(4) The termination by the Supreme Court of the applicant's admission under
this section.



It shall be the duty of the individual to inform the Supreme Court immediately of
the termination or change in status of applicant's employment.

16-16-7.8. Submission to disciplinary board jurisdiction - Revocation of
admission or referral to board for misconduct — Venue. Under §16-16-7.6, the filing of
an application requesting admission by the state court administrator or by a law school full-
time administrator or faculty member shall constitute his or her submission to the jurisdiction
of the disciplinary board of the state bar.

If, after admission to practice in this state, the applicant engages in professional
misconduct as that term is defined by the rules governing the state bar of South Dakota, the
Supreme Court may revoke his or her admission to practice. In addition, the matter may be
referred to the disciplinary board of the state bar or other proper authority as is deemed
necessary and desirable. Clay County shall be considered the county of the full-time
administrator or faculty member's residence for the purpose of determining venue in any
disciplinary action taken against him or her. Hughes County shall be considered the county of
the state court administrator's residence for the purpose of determining venue in any
disciplinary action taken against him or her.

16-16-8. Application for admission on examination. Application for admission
on examination shall be filed with the Secretary of the Board of Bar Examiners at such time
and in such form as the Board shall prescribe. The failure of an applicant to furnish
information or answer truthfully interrogatories of the Board pertinent to his application may
result in denial of the application.

16-16-9. Time and place of examination. The Board of Bar Examiners shall
conduct examinations at such times and places as the Board shall by rule determine.

16-16-10. Subjects covered by examination—Public notice. The subjects upon
which applicants shall be examined shall be such as the Board of Bar Examiners deems
necessary to prepare properly for the practice of law in this state, including the subjects of
legal ethics and Indian Law. The Board shall make public such subjects, giving full and
ample public notice of any change or addition thereto and written notice to the dean of the law
school, University of South Dakota.

16-16-11. Re-examination after three failures prohibited. An applicant who
fails three times to pass the bar examination in any jurisdiction or combination of
jurisdictions, may not be permitted to take another examination in South Dakota except by
permission of the Supreme Court upon a showing that the reasons for previous failures no
longer exist and there is a reasonable likelihood the applicant will pass the examination if
allowed to take it.

16-16-12.1. Admission without examination. Eligibility by practice. An
applicant may be eligible for admission without examination if the applicant:

a. meets the requirements of SDCL 16-16-2;

Effective 7/1/15
Page 10




